Poppy Seed Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
The baking time for this is too long - I baked mine for a little less than 50 minutes and it was slightly overdone. Next time I'll shorten it to 40 - 45 minutes. But, other than that, this bread is very delicious, with or without spreading butter on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
The flavor was nice, but it was on the dry side. I used 1/2 t. vanilla extract and 1/2 t. lemon extract instead of 1 full t. of vanilla. I sure hope that didn't affect the moistness of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Pretty average - the poppy seed III recipe or poppy seed with glaze is better. This could have used some richness from using part butter for flavor and almond flavoring wouldn't have hurt. So just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was great! Very simple to make and it turned out so moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Awesome! good recipe and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Not the best i've ever had but i was craving poppy seed bread and i got it it was still very good! VERY easy to make and easily releases from the pan so i liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I add 1 cup of pecans. Great frozen, Slice while frozen into thin slices and make a sandwich with cream cheese with crushed pineapple. A favorite with my children. They love to make it for their teacers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
The list of ingredients for this recipe is very good and produces a very nice tasting quick bread that we all enjoyed. However , I would not recommend following the directions by beating all the ingredients together in a bowl for 5 minutes with an electric mixer. Excessive mixing will cause the overdevelopment of gluten and make the bread tough instead of tender.. INSTEAD… Pour the dry ingredients into the wet ones (Only when each bowl of ingredients is mixed thoroughly ) and fold them together gently until just combined. Do this part by hand rather than with a mixer. The end result will be a nice sweet, tender quick bread. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This was a great recipe. easy to make and very tasty! I kept one bread and gave the other to a friend. The bread was much better about 5 hours after it cooled than right out of the oven. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! Very moist, received lots of compliments about that, as well as the amount of poppy seeds used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States