Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I've made literally dozens and dozens of like but not the same popover recipes. I left the salt out (restrictions), used Pam butter spray to "grease" the large muffin sized pan, but it made no difference, these are by far the easiest and best turned out popovers I have ever made. One must follow the directions exactly and the oven must be properly preheated, but if one does follow exactly, this is a no fail, excellent recipe for popovers without needed speciality pans, butter, extra calories, ect. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
895 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2000
I have loved these since I was a kid! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This was so easy and quick to make. I managed to make it in moments, and it was eaten in seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
These are wonderful! Add a little honey butter and volia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
We enjoyed popovers the other night so I thought I'd try this recipe and (with my fingers crossed) hoped that they'd turn out just as good. Well, they did! I did take another's advice who stated that they added 1 tsp of vanilla to the batter. Also, after I reduced the heat to 350 degrees, I only had to bake for 10 min (thus, total baking time was 30 min). Had I baked any longer, these goodies would have been burnt. Although they taste just as good as "Cold Oven Popoevrs" (also found on this site), I like that recipe a little better b/c you aren't messing with the oven temp. Still, excellent recipe with excellent results!! One last thing, I made "Cinnamon Honey Butter" (again, from this site) and spread it inside the warm popovers...yup! I'm in heaven!! Thanks Christy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
these turn out every time!! i love to eat them with butter and cinnamon-sugar inside!!! TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
These turned out fantastic! My only frown was when they deflated. They remind me of Dutch Baby's that you get at the original house of pancakes. Next time I'll add a little bit more sugar for a sweeter taste and maybe make savory popovers for dinner parties! Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
These always turn out and beleive me when I say I make them ALL the time!(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This recipe was wonderful, I didn't bake them for quite as long as it said in the recipe. I kept the popovers in the oven for about 15 minutes at 450 or until a nice not too dark golden brown and then for another about 11-13 minutes at 350 degrees or until they look puffed up. Maybe the cooking time was shorter because I filled my muffin pans half way. These tasted great and my family added their favorites (butter and apricot jam) while I added a dash of cinnamon and sugar on mine. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristie111

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Wonderful! Simple! I'm not a baker and these were easy and completely impressed the guests! I recommend 100%
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States