Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
These were so easy even I could do it! I love these never had a popover before. I did modify. 400 for 15 minutes and added a bag of finely shredded Parmesian Cheese to serve with dinner. They turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My family has made popovers for as long as I can remember. We didn't make them for several years, and as a result we lost the recipe. Recently we decided to make popovers, and I found this one.. Just like the ones we've always made! It's quick and easy- we can double it when we are serving a big bunch, or I can half it for a quick lunch for myself. We will eat them alone for dinner, breakfast.. Whatever! As someone else said, we only cook for 20 minutes and they are done perfectly! Occasioanlly they need an extra minute or two- but no more or they burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Kids loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
thank you for sharing this recipe - after sooooo many tries of other recipes and having lunch bag let down - this by far is the easiest - no fail !!! the taste is sublte and can easily become dessert (as I had seen in photos) thanks again !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. My own tweaks: I add 1 to 1 and 1/2 T of melted butter to the batter (richer taste) I preheat the oven for at least 15 minutes. I also preheat the pan for 2 minutes. Wonderful filled with scrambled eggs and diced bacon or merely jam or marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
WOW! I'd always been too afraid to attempt popovers, but this recipe was simple and delish! My only thing is that, for me, they were done after the first 20 mins and did not need the second 20 at a lower temp. But other than that, easy, delicious, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is such a great recipe! I love that it uses ingredients on hand and is so simple! I mixed butter and maple syrup and topped the popovers! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
They turned out great! I added finely diced strawberries sprinkled on top of batter before baking and served topped with Yogurt Sauce: 1/2C powdered sugar and 1/4C vanilla yogurt (if needed to thin to glaze consistency add a dash of milk)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Shaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
It might be that my oven is hotter than others, not sure, but this recipe did not work for me. After 15 minutes at 450, I smelled a burning smell so I checked them and they were already burnt and most were popped. I followed the directions exactly. So I tried another batch and this time started at 350 and only cooked for 15-18 minutes. That batch turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseKimmi
Home Town: Hansford, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ruffin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
just like i remember . . . serve with butter or butter & jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States