Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is my go-to recipe when the hubby isn't home. He hates popovers and I love them and this recipe works great. I follow the recipe exactly except I don't have popover forms. I use my mini muffin pan and fill the vessels almost full and they puff up really well. I put a dab of butter and the results are wonderful. Thanks for a great simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drewdoc
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
These turned out great, especially with the cinnamon honey butter recipe from this site. I did make sure to preheat my oven with the pans in, then added a pat of butter to each custard cup just before pouring the batter. I didn't bother greasing and flouring the cups. I also added some vanilla (1/2 tsp or so) as others suggested. I posted two pics attached to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My first time making popovers was a great success. I made 2 portions and it yielded 10 massive popovers. 2 of them were so big they hit the roof of the oven and fell out of the muffin tray when I pulled it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I used this recipe for breakfast this morning. By heating the pan first and letting the eggs and milk come to room temp. Great! crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. I then cooked a couple slices of bacon a bit of sausage, scrambled a couple eggs, sautéed some onion and bell pepper, mixed together and stuffed the popovers, topped with grated cheddar and there you have it! Great, "light" breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I thought they were a bit heavy and doughy and so did my husband. There's a restaurant we enjoy that has the best popovers and I was hoping for something closer to them. We like the more airy, lighter ones. Plus after I buttered and floured the cups, the popovers almost had a paper-like outer coating around them that was tough to eat. I'm going to try out some other recipes to see if I find what I'm looking for. Don't think I'd make these again, but it was a good try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is a great recipe with a couple modifications on technique (not recipe). First, fill cups almost full. This recipe filled 4 of the 6 of my pop over pan cups (yup, I own a popover pan =). They'll pop up huge this way! When I don't do this, they don't pop right (note: I don't have the best oven in my rental so might also be a heat issue). Also use coconut oil to grease the pans. I did a quick test between using coconut and butter and found that the coconut works better (used spray to get the sides and lip of the cups). Popovers slide right out. In the past i have used olive oil & EVOOo sprays but always had some sticking. I usually spray pan and put a little dollup of oil in each cup the head it for a few moments. I fill the cups immediately after removing from the oven with the pan and oil hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I love popovers, so I am confused about this recipe. The temperature is way too hot for way too long. I thought maybe I was missing something so I tried it twice. They end up rock hard on the outside. Granted the inside is light and fluffy, but I think I'll stick to the standard recipe I have used for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
So happy! Turned out perfect. 15 min. 450 and 15 min at 350 :) made some honey butter to accompany them. Incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anastazia Morris
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
With Abigail Porter's additions to the directions, these turned out fantastic. Preheating the pan, and using room temp eggs and milk made for popovers that were sky-high, beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastazia Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These turned out hard and flatter than they should. I think the butter was left out of the recipe. I followed recipe exactly as written, oven temp as directed. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States