Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I thought they were a bit heavy and doughy and so did my husband. There's a restaurant we enjoy that has the best popovers and I was hoping for something closer to them. We like the more airy, lighter ones. Plus after I buttered and floured the cups, the popovers almost had a paper-like outer coating around them that was tough to eat. I'm going to try out some other recipes to see if I find what I'm looking for. Don't think I'd make these again, but it was a good try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is a great recipe with a couple modifications on technique (not recipe). First, fill cups almost full. This recipe filled 4 of the 6 of my pop over pan cups (yup, I own a popover pan =). They'll pop up huge this way! When I don't do this, they don't pop right (note: I don't have the best oven in my rental so might also be a heat issue). Also use coconut oil to grease the pans. I did a quick test between using coconut and butter and found that the coconut works better (used spray to get the sides and lip of the cups). Popovers slide right out. In the past i have used olive oil & EVOOo sprays but always had some sticking. I usually spray pan and put a little dollup of oil in each cup the head it for a few moments. I fill the cups immediately after removing from the oven with the pan and oil hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I love popovers, so I am confused about this recipe. The temperature is way too hot for way too long. I thought maybe I was missing something so I tried it twice. They end up rock hard on the outside. Granted the inside is light and fluffy, but I think I'll stick to the standard recipe I have used for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
So happy! Turned out perfect. 15 min. 450 and 15 min at 350 :) made some honey butter to accompany them. Incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tasha M.
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
With Abigail Porter's additions to the directions, these turned out fantastic. Preheating the pan, and using room temp eggs and milk made for popovers that were sky-high, beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These turned out hard and flatter than they should. I think the butter was left out of the recipe. I followed recipe exactly as written, oven temp as directed. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by debgarben
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I have tried many recipes for popovers. This one seems to be the winner. They rise really tall, and they are nice and "eggy"! This is the only one I use now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debgarben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carteret, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I have used this recipe countless times over the last few years. It is a great basic recipe. The key to getting the popovers out of the pan with ease is to preheat the popover pan while the oven is warming to 450*. I Pam spray the piping hot pan and quickly fill the cups with batter. I always double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
delicious popovers, next time I would decrease baking time by 5-10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very good recipe. I think the bake temps and times might be a little off because mine went a little dark, but with perfect texture. I would also increase the salt a pinch or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States