Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I've made literally dozens and dozens of like but not the same popover recipes. I left the salt out (restrictions), used Pam butter spray to "grease" the large muffin sized pan, but it made no difference, these are by far the easiest and best turned out popovers I have ever made. One must follow the directions exactly and the oven must be properly preheated, but if one does follow exactly, this is a no fail, excellent recipe for popovers without needed speciality pans, butter, extra calories, ect. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
890 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Excellent recipe. I tested some variations with 3 of the 6 popover cups. For 3 I preheated the custard cups with a small dab of butter in each. Those 3 rose higher and came out of the cups more easily than the 3 that were not preheated and did not have the dab of butter in the bottom (before adding the batter). Also, to prevent the likelihood of getting too dark, I reduced the temp to 350 after 15 minutes and then reduced the 350 bake time to 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
546 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
We enjoyed popovers the other night so I thought I'd try this recipe and (with my fingers crossed) hoped that they'd turn out just as good. Well, they did! I did take another's advice who stated that they added 1 tsp of vanilla to the batter. Also, after I reduced the heat to 350 degrees, I only had to bake for 10 min (thus, total baking time was 30 min). Had I baked any longer, these goodies would have been burnt. Although they taste just as good as "Cold Oven Popoevrs" (also found on this site), I like that recipe a little better b/c you aren't messing with the oven temp. Still, excellent recipe with excellent results!! One last thing, I made "Cinnamon Honey Butter" (again, from this site) and spread it inside the warm popovers...yup! I'm in heaven!! Thanks Christy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
392 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I have been making popovers now for over 20 years. I thought that I might have a lead hand. When they popped they did not taste very good and when they did not pop so much, the flavor was good. This recipe is my very first success. I used popover pans that are non-stick and I never thought to butter the outside top of the pans but next time I will because that is how huge they ended up being. I cannot thank you enough. I also reduced the cooking time and put a dot of butter in the bottom of each tin. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Ok, I don't want to rate this yet becuase evidently it is me that is the problem, not the recipe. I tried making these twice..folling the directions exactly and being careful not to over mix. The second time I tried baking at 450 for 15 min and then 350 for 15 min...each time the same thing happens. They fall in the middle and they are heavy like a paperweight. Someone please let me know what I am doing wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is a really good popover recipe, the only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because of the directions. Popovers "pop" better when a) the milk and eggs are room temperature before mixing and b) the pan is preheated. If you follow those two easy steps along with this recipe you'll have perfect popovers every time. I've made this recipe several times and will continue to do so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
These Popovers come out crusty on the outside, and soft in the center, almost like churos! I add 1/2t. vanilla to the batter. For serving, I have a bowl of cinnamon and sugar to sprinkle on them (once they've been torn open). My husband loves them, so I make them as a weekend breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This was so easy and quick to make. I managed to make it in moments, and it was eaten in seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
Recipe was good, but not as good as others I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Okay... ...I'm just starting in the kitchen, and these where by far the show stopper of the evening! I've made them with great care and on the fly and just can't seem to mess them up. I do have a tip however: when right out of the oven poke the tops with a fork to let extra steam escape. If you don't they will deflate. By doing this you can throw any extra in the freezer for a later a quick zap in the microwave and perfect accompaniment to a cup of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States