Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2000
I have loved these since I was a kid! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
Recipe was good, but not as good as others I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
These Popovers come out crusty on the outside, and soft in the center, almost like churos! I add 1/2t. vanilla to the batter. For serving, I have a bowl of cinnamon and sugar to sprinkle on them (once they've been torn open). My husband loves them, so I make them as a weekend breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
these turn out every time!! i love to eat them with butter and cinnamon-sugar inside!!! TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I've made literally dozens and dozens of like but not the same popover recipes. I left the salt out (restrictions), used Pam butter spray to "grease" the large muffin sized pan, but it made no difference, these are by far the easiest and best turned out popovers I have ever made. One must follow the directions exactly and the oven must be properly preheated, but if one does follow exactly, this is a no fail, excellent recipe for popovers without needed speciality pans, butter, extra calories, ect. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
897 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This was so easy and quick to make. I managed to make it in moments, and it was eaten in seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
these were all right, they did lack in flavor, but were real easy to make. thank you for sharing your recipe christy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
These are great for breakfast. We will eat them hot out of the oven with just a little butter. I liked other reviewer's suggestions of cinnamon sugar and will have to try that next time I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
We enjoyed popovers the other night so I thought I'd try this recipe and (with my fingers crossed) hoped that they'd turn out just as good. Well, they did! I did take another's advice who stated that they added 1 tsp of vanilla to the batter. Also, after I reduced the heat to 350 degrees, I only had to bake for 10 min (thus, total baking time was 30 min). Had I baked any longer, these goodies would have been burnt. Although they taste just as good as "Cold Oven Popoevrs" (also found on this site), I like that recipe a little better b/c you aren't messing with the oven temp. Still, excellent recipe with excellent results!! One last thing, I made "Cinnamon Honey Butter" (again, from this site) and spread it inside the warm popovers...yup! I'm in heaven!! Thanks Christy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
401 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
These turned out fantastic! My only frown was when they deflated. They remind me of Dutch Baby's that you get at the original house of pancakes. Next time I'll add a little bit more sugar for a sweeter taste and maybe make savory popovers for dinner parties! Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States