Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This is the Betty Crocker recipe. They do "pop up" light and fluffy, but they were way to dark after the first 20 minutes at 450, so I just took them out of the oven then. They tasted ok, but just a little "dark".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Fabulous! and easy! i added 1 teaspoon of Van. and reduced the cook time to 15min@450 and 10min@350. Also, I added a pat of butter in the bottom of each muffin tin and preheated the oven to 500, warmed the tin for 2 minutes and then reduced the temp right before I put in the tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenifer
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I've been using this recipe for years (I got it out of Paula Deen's first cookbook). I did try the different baking method in Christy's recipe, but find my popovers turn out better if I follow P's recipe and start with a cold oven, baking at 450 for 30 minutes (I have a gas stove) then pulling them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandonsMom11197

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I didn't like this recipe, tasted horrible to me. Maybe as a cream puff and add more sugar into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
These were so easy even I could do it! I love these never had a popover before. I did modify. 400 for 15 minutes and added a bag of finely shredded Parmesian Cheese to serve with dinner. They turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My family has made popovers for as long as I can remember. We didn't make them for several years, and as a result we lost the recipe. Recently we decided to make popovers, and I found this one.. Just like the ones we've always made! It's quick and easy- we can double it when we are serving a big bunch, or I can half it for a quick lunch for myself. We will eat them alone for dinner, breakfast.. Whatever! As someone else said, we only cook for 20 minutes and they are done perfectly! Occasioanlly they need an extra minute or two- but no more or they burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Kids loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
thank you for sharing this recipe - after sooooo many tries of other recipes and having lunch bag let down - this by far is the easiest - no fail !!! the taste is sublte and can easily become dessert (as I had seen in photos) thanks again !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. My own tweaks: I add 1 to 1 and 1/2 T of melted butter to the batter (richer taste) I preheat the oven for at least 15 minutes. I also preheat the pan for 2 minutes. Wonderful filled with scrambled eggs and diced bacon or merely jam or marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
WOW! I'd always been too afraid to attempt popovers, but this recipe was simple and delish! My only thing is that, for me, they were done after the first 20 mins and did not need the second 20 at a lower temp. But other than that, easy, delicious, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States