Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
As far as popovers go, this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Delicious. Big, fluffy, tasty, cheap and easy. Definitely needs the salt. Only needed 30 minutes total in my oven. update..made a second time without the dab of butter (pre-melted in the oven) and they did not turn out well, too doughy thick and tough. The dab of melted butter seemed to make a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
These were great but too salty for my liking, next time Im going to use half the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Overcooked! Popovers should be light inside and these were like a roll almost all the way through although I followed the exact recipe. Flavor was ok, but next time I would cut the cooking time 5 minutes on each heat setting and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I bought a mini popover pan (Nordic Ware) and used this recipe and the family loved them. So easy, light, crisp, so good. 450 for 15 minutes then 350 for 15 minutes worked for the minis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Simply easy and awesome! Mt first time making them and this recipe was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This is the Betty Crocker recipe. They do "pop up" light and fluffy, but they were way to dark after the first 20 minutes at 450, so I just took them out of the oven then. They tasted ok, but just a little "dark".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Fabulous! and easy! i added 1 teaspoon of Van. and reduced the cook time to 15min@450 and 10min@350. Also, I added a pat of butter in the bottom of each muffin tin and preheated the oven to 500, warmed the tin for 2 minutes and then reduced the temp right before I put in the tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenifer
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I've been using this recipe for years (I got it out of Paula Deen's first cookbook). I did try the different baking method in Christy's recipe, but find my popovers turn out better if I follow P's recipe and start with a cold oven, baking at 450 for 30 minutes (I have a gas stove) then pulling them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandonsMom11197

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I didn't like this recipe, tasted horrible to me. Maybe as a cream puff and add more sugar into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States