Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
YES. I have made these many times, the lower the kitchen humidity seems better (like Fall and Winter!) PRE-HEAT oven for 30 minutes...Very important. Mine are 3 xl eggs room temp, 2 c. milk room temp.(2%, 2 c. unbleached flour, 1/2 t. Kosher salt. Room temp. seems to help. The night before on the counter is Fine for eggs and milk. Whip eggs lightly, add milk slowly, add flour and salt. In all it takes 30 seconds!!! Or less. Have Popover pan (Bed, Bath and Beyond, $12.00) sprayed with regular Pam. Pour 2/3 full. Bake as directed. Have some nice butter and French Jam ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sduer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I love this recipe. I've been using the Betty Crocker recipe for several years - which is exactly the same as this one. I also saw Rachel Ray has this same recipe too. Can't fix what's not broke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Very easy recipe. Following advice of other posters I reduced the salt to 1/4 tsp., let the batter sit for about half an hour, added a dab of butter to each cup, and reduced the time at 350 by 10 minutes. Came out perfect. Wish I had 2 pans to make a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
These popovers turned out pretty yummy; they kind of tasted like french toast. I was expected the outside to be crispy, but it still tasted pretty good. You definitely have to eat them ASAP, because they start deflating outside the oven. Also, be sure to watch them after 20 min. My oven doesn't heat evenly, so I had to remove a couple golden-brown ones and let the rest bake a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
My mom used to make popovers as an occasional dinner treat. We all loved them, but I try to make things whole wheat if possible. I knew it was going to take more than just swapping the white for wheat when it came to this more delicate recipe. But try number 2 yielded great success! My brother-in-law - who makes a point of avoiding health food - wasn't told that these were 100% whole wheat, and had several! These are the ingredients I used for making them whole wheat (This makes 1 dozen): 3 Eggs, 1 cup and 2 Tbsp white whole wheat flour (like king arthur brand) 1.5 cups skim milk, 1.5 tsp salt, 1.5 tsp vanilla extract. I'm not sure if egg beaters would work, but I'll give it a try sometime to see if I can lower the fat and calorie count, which to be honest if they don't work isn't a huge deal since the recipe as I made it is pretty low fat/cal anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
As the recipe says they are "light and airy". A perfect addition to our breakfast dinners:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Church Road, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I actually reduce the salt to 1/4 tsp. for this recipe and they rise much more. Also instead of 20 minutes at 350° I do 10 m. I love putting honey over them when ready to eat! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Excellant, super easy recipe. I caution for a light touch with the mixing and only whisked the batter until smooth with a few tiny lumps. I used a ceramic muffin dish, greased and floured as the recipe called for, but had to cut the final cooking time by 6 minutes because they would have burnt. Delish with braised beef ribs and roasted veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I made this recipe today (my first ever popover attempt) and I was really impressed! I followed some of the other reviewers advice, and used room temp ingredients, and put a dab of butter in the bottom of my muffin tin (I don't have popover tins but my muffin tins worked fine, I made 8 popovers instead of 6). I experimented and preheated one tray and left the other cold. I actually liked the cold tray of popovers better, the bottoms got a little dark on the tin I preheated. And, I adjusted the time as well, 15 minutes at 450 and 15 min at 350. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States