Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
love these they go nice with a salad thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe..Omg! Loved it was easy they puffed up nicely & totally held the puff when they cooled. I used two different topings/ fillings. 1st was a cinnamon-honey butter 2nd I cut a slight criss cut on top & piped inside of them cool whip...my family loved both & they stayed firm on outside soft on the inside. "WINNER" in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I doubled the recipe and made it in cupcake pans. Our family of four completely ate all of them with jam/butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is my go-to recipe when the hubby isn't home. He hates popovers and I love them and this recipe works great. I follow the recipe exactly except I don't have popover forms. I use my mini muffin pan and fill the vessels almost full and they puff up really well. I put a dab of butter and the results are wonderful. Thanks for a great simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
They turned out perfectly. I used whole milk as that's all I have around, and I didn't allow any opening of the oven door. (No peeking, only peaking!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My first time making popovers was a great success. I made 2 portions and it yielded 10 massive popovers. 2 of them were so big they hit the roof of the oven and fell out of the muffin tray when I pulled it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I used this recipe for breakfast this morning. By heating the pan first and letting the eggs and milk come to room temp. Great! crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. I then cooked a couple slices of bacon a bit of sausage, scrambled a couple eggs, sautéed some onion and bell pepper, mixed together and stuffed the popovers, topped with grated cheddar and there you have it! Great, "light" breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I thought they were a bit heavy and doughy and so did my husband. There's a restaurant we enjoy that has the best popovers and I was hoping for something closer to them. We like the more airy, lighter ones. Plus after I buttered and floured the cups, the popovers almost had a paper-like outer coating around them that was tough to eat. I'm going to try out some other recipes to see if I find what I'm looking for. Don't think I'd make these again, but it was a good try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is a great recipe with a couple modifications on technique (not recipe). First, fill cups almost full. This recipe filled 4 of the 6 of my pop over pan cups (yup, I own a popover pan =). They'll pop up huge this way! When I don't do this, they don't pop right (note: I don't have the best oven in my rental so might also be a heat issue). Also use coconut oil to grease the pans. I did a quick test between using coconut and butter and found that the coconut works better (used spray to get the sides and lip of the cups). Popovers slide right out. In the past i have used olive oil & EVOOo sprays but always had some sticking. I usually spray pan and put a little dollup of oil in each cup the head it for a few moments. I fill the cups immediately after removing from the oven with the pan and oil hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I love popovers, so I am confused about this recipe. The temperature is way too hot for way too long. I thought maybe I was missing something so I tried it twice. They end up rock hard on the outside. Granted the inside is light and fluffy, but I think I'll stick to the standard recipe I have used for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States