Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
These are easy, fun and delicious. Mine were a little browner than preferred, but I just got a new oven and think they needed to be on a lower rack. My only complaint is a Popover complaint in that you have to eat them immediately and they take a long time to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Great recipe my husband loved them. I found that when I added an extra egg they rose better and were lighter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
It really works if you make one change 4 egg whites instead of two eggs, leave out the yolks entirely you will be really impressed. Also use preheated pyrex pudding bowls with a vegetable spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This is an excellent recipe for popovers, however I found that the oven temp was too high and too long. I recommend baking at 425 for 15 minutes, then reducing to 350 for 15 minutes more. These did raise sky high and they were light and airy, but they would have burned to a crisp had I not checked on them and turned the temp down. I sprinkled with powdered sugar and jelly and served for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Super easy and very good! I had never made popovers so this was the perfect receipe for me to learn with. Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genavcn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
These were okay. I used Pam in my popover pan. I will stick with my BLT recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I always thought that popovers would be too hard to make, but this recipe is super simple and it worked great. My custard cups are wide rather than tall, so the popovers were a little odd shaped, but they "popped" and they tasted great. I'll definitely make these again. I might get myself a popover pan, they were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
If you've never made, or been too intimidated to make popovers, this recipe is ridiculously easy to make and turns out impressively beautiful and delicious every time. I use a non-stick mini-muffin pan and put a small bit of butter in the bottom of each cup, spray it with non stick spray and preheat my pan till the butter is melted and sizzling, then pour the batter to fill the cups about 2/3 or 3/4 full. For the mini-muffin size popovers, I cook at 450 for 12 minutes, then turn the oven down to 350 for 12 more minutes. This is my go to popover recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogue, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
For some reason mine did not pop! So we refered to them as "overs" and ate them anyway - they very tastey. I would make them again anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I was so impressed with this one! first time eating and making a popover, I was a bit doubtful of how they would come out. They looked and tasted like something from a french bakery! I have to say though, I added chopped bacon and cheddar to the batter which gave them incredible flavor and texture. I did have to lower the temperature to 350 after 20 minutes and only left them in another 15 minutes after that. They browned quite beautifully. I am anxious to try other add ins such as pear, cheddar, and rosemary, or apple and cheddar! ooh...the possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States