Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This recipe was easy to follow and to prepare . We have missed NY popovers here in Chicago. The recipe was just as those popover from Amsterdam Ave. I agree with the need to follow the recipe carefully, particularly the sequence to mix the ingredients. Now, getting fresh fruits mixed well with the butter was a bit more difficult. The popover, nonetheless were just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I don't rate one star because I may have done something wrong that they turned out deflated and cooked too quickly on the outside. I have used a few other recipes calling for unsalted butter and the result was a 5-star rating. This particular recipe omits the butter and I think that may be part of the reason for my "Fail" grade. This recipe will be deleted from my list. Suggestion: try other recipes before this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
just how i remembered as a child..delicious. next time i will reduce the salt by a tad and bake at 15 mins on 450 and then 15 mins at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juli royston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I've been eating and making popovers for years. This recipe is by far the most "fool proof" I have found. Perfect each time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I was out of vegetable oil and this recipe doesn't require it, so I thought I would give it a try. I don't have custard cups so I used a muffin pan as I always do and got 11 popovers. They all rose beautifully and were very crisp and evenly browned. This is my new popover recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Deysenroth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
They turned out yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
The best popovers. Like other reviewers noted, the timing is off. I recommend 10 minutes at 450 and then 15 minutes at 350. I also preheated the pan with 1/2 tsp. of butter in the bottom of each cup. Then after preheating, I sprayed the pan with a non-stick vegetable spray. They came right out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
they were very difficult to get out of the pan. I suggest putting 1/4 tsp crisco in each cup and put in the oven while you mix the batter then pour the batter into the hot cup. I have done this in the past and they came out easier.I use a popover pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I've been trying all kinds of popover recipes. My mom used to make them and fill with REAL whipped cream for a special dessert. This recipe was perfect. I found that pre-heating my pan, room temperature eggs and warmed whole milk worked best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
These are great. I substituted Almond Milk because that's what I had in the fridge and they turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States