Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Excellent. Reminds me of popovers I used to have on vacation on the Cape. One suggestion; bring the eggs and milk to room temperature first, otherwise follow recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Great recipe. I've made these numerous times now using my popover pan and they always turn out delicious. Light, airy, and crispy. Just don't overwork the batter, it can get chewy if you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Awesome - I hadn't had popovers since I was a kid. Didn't realize how much I'd missed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scrumdiddly
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
My family is gluten-free. I used a combination of GF all purpose flour and sweet rice flour (the sweet rice flour gives a lightness to the popover) and I used half and half instead of milk. They came out amazing. A little dense (maybe more like a Yorkshire pudding?), but we fought over the last one (I won).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrumdiddly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Great this is the 1st popover recipe that I have used and came out right the other ones failed taste is very good and it is very easy thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Thornton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Even I can make these! Turned out perfect. I was a bit panicked as usual when cooking, but they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Great popover recipe! I added 1/4 tsp. of baking powder as this helped them to rise more. I used my mixer to do the batter, filled the popover pans 1/2 full and they raised beautifully. I made a double batch and we ate them ALL. I served these with cinnamon whipped butter. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I changed the recipe to 4 servings (using 2 eggs) and used small muffin pans and reduced the cooking time(it made 12 muffins). I followed other recomendations to warm the milk and put the eggs in warm water first. They turned out so fluffy! Great with honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Tastes delicious, had to edit the recipe though. I made mine in a cupcake tin and found I had to reduce the bake time to about 18 minutes total in order to not burn them. (they were quite brown already and my oven runs a little hot). They turned out a little more like bowls than muffin-shaped, but still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Morton

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lbarnaby
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Doubled recipe, made it in regular muffin tins, and recipe made 16 popovers. Second batch came out better because i did not open door. Just great with butter and fruit preserve. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States