Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Excellent! 5 stars. Only change I made (third time around) was to bake at 350 to get higher "Puff" and a bit more chrunch. Another thing to consider is to allow all ingredients to come to room temperature before baking and keep that pan hot! Tom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This was so easy and good. I was a little short on milk and ended up using some of my vanilla creamer. What a pleasent surprise it added a hint of sweet! I also used a muffin tin and it turned out just fine. My kids can't wait for me to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drury@icehouse.net

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
These came out great and were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly! Not only did they not "popover"..they didn't rise AT ALL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I've made this recipe multiple times and always turns out. I do reduce the butter that I melt in the popover pans just a bit so that it doesn't run over and smoke up the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I have made these many times. I add a table spoon of vanilla and a dash of nutmeg. I did try using a muffin pan the first time and they did not "pop" well. but in a popover pan they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I just tried these for the first time. I took other reviewers advice and warmed the milk a little in the microwave and warmed the eggs in warm water for about 10 minutes. I also used salted butter. I used the Nordicware Grand popover pan I ordered on Amazon and they came out PERFECT!!!!!! The amount of batter was perfect for my 6 popover pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peckville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I decided to use this recipe which is close to the one I've made over the years. I wanted to see how it was to add butter to the batter and to the popover cups, too. Well, they were a huge hit! They turned out perfectly. The one thing I did that is not written into these instructions is to let the batter sit at room temperature for about 1 1/2 to 2 hours. After turning down the heat, they didn't require the whole time of baking---only about ten minutes more. I would make these again! Thanks, J Miller!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I make these almost every weekend. This is the recipe I follow and I have not had one disappointing batch. I live in a lactose free house hold and I have had no trouble using lactose free milk. Once I even used a little chocolate milk and still had a great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AJ
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Great recipe! I was apprehensive to try it because it was different than the recipe on the back of my new popover pan-but these were so easy and delish! I took Amy T.'s advice and warmed the milk and eggs first, served them with honey cinnamon butter....Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States