Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sugarkissesmom
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Yummy with cinnamon honey butter so good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
I am a retired person over the age of 60 and this is the first time I've dared to make popovers. This recipe was perfect and these popovers were easy to make and sooo delicious. Will definitely use my popover pan again and again to make these wonderful additions to any meal. One thing though, it made 12 instead of 6 so if I had filled my tins any more they would have spilled over and would have made quite a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cowpuppy
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Came out perfect! Lovely high pop! Right amount of crisp and flake. I have been baking popovers for many years. I have mostly used the recipe that came with the Chicago Popover Pan. It’s a hit or miss how well they pop. Best batch I ever made with that recipe was when I forget to set the timer and overcooked them! Thus, I searched for tips and recipes. This one is very similar to the Chicago Popover recipe except the ingredient amounts varied slightly and it calls for higher oven temps. I have to substitute the milk for soy milk and the butter for vegan butter due to my son’s dairy allergy. I knew to use room temperature eggs and soy milk. I have found slightly warmer than room temp even better. I followed one reviewer's advice to mix in the flour last. That seems to be a good trick. And did not open the over door. The popovers rose very high and tasted great. Just like the restaurant “Popovers” on Manhattan’s UWS. They used to have lines around the block but unfortunately they have closed after 30 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowpuppy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HILLY29
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
What a great recipe find! I followed the recipe as directed and they came out great. I will definitely add this one to my recipe database. When I made them the second time I made some changes, I added two tablespoons of sugar and a little bit of vanilla and they were awesome! It added that extra that some said was missing. Keep in mind, popovers are bland, the taste reminds me of french toast batter. It really is all about personal preference. The addition of the vanilla and sugar to the recipe made them so tasty on their own. The original recipe is just as great and I highly recommend the cinnamon honey butter to complement as was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellaire, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Great popover recipe. Fill cups half full and DO NOT OPEN THE OVEN while they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Excellent. Reminds me of popovers I used to have on vacation on the Cape. One suggestion; bring the eggs and milk to room temperature first, otherwise follow recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Great recipe. I've made these numerous times now using my popover pan and they always turn out delicious. Light, airy, and crispy. Just don't overwork the batter, it can get chewy if you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Awesome - I hadn't had popovers since I was a kid. Didn't realize how much I'd missed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scrumdiddly
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
My family is gluten-free. I used a combination of GF all purpose flour and sweet rice flour (the sweet rice flour gives a lightness to the popover) and I used half and half instead of milk. They came out amazing. A little dense (maybe more like a Yorkshire pudding?), but we fought over the last one (I won).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrumdiddly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Great this is the 1st popover recipe that I have used and came out right the other ones failed taste is very good and it is very easy thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Thornton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States