Popovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by scrumdiddly
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
My family is gluten-free. I used a combination of GF all purpose flour and sweet rice flour (the sweet rice flour gives a lightness to the popover) and I used half and half instead of milk. They came out amazing. A little dense (maybe more like a Yorkshire pudding?), but we fought over the last one (I won).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrumdiddly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Great this is the 1st popover recipe that I have used and came out right the other ones failed taste is very good and it is very easy thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Thornton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Even I can make these! Turned out perfect. I was a bit panicked as usual when cooking, but they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Great popover recipe! I added 1/4 tsp. of baking powder as this helped them to rise more. I used my mixer to do the batter, filled the popover pans 1/2 full and they raised beautifully. I made a double batch and we ate them ALL. I served these with cinnamon whipped butter. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I changed the recipe to 4 servings (using 2 eggs) and used small muffin pans and reduced the cooking time(it made 12 muffins). I followed other recomendations to warm the milk and put the eggs in warm water first. They turned out so fluffy! Great with honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Tastes delicious, had to edit the recipe though. I made mine in a cupcake tin and found I had to reduce the bake time to about 18 minutes total in order to not burn them. (they were quite brown already and my oven runs a little hot). They turned out a little more like bowls than muffin-shaped, but still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Morton

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lbarnaby
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Doubled recipe, made it in regular muffin tins, and recipe made 16 popovers. Second batch came out better because i did not open door. Just great with butter and fruit preserve. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
First time to ever make Popeyes and they turned out great. I made warm sautéed peaches in butter and sugar with a scoop of vanilla ice cream to go with his... I would like to add some garlic powder and cheddar cheese and make savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I used a cupcake pan. It came out like German pancakes. They're still good, but I will buy a popover pan and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Excellent! 5 stars. Only change I made (third time around) was to bake at 350 to get higher "Puff" and a bit more chrunch. Another thing to consider is to allow all ingredients to come to room temperature before baking and keep that pan hot! Tom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States