Pope's Valentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
This recipe was just perfect for what we needed -- fast and simple enough for my 3 year old to help - a lot! They are the most delicious shortbread cookie I have ever tasted, and baked beautifully. Sure to become a family classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
The dough is very easy to handle and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Very easy to make, had to have my oven on 300 or the bottoms got too brown. Very tasty cookies and rolled out great. Keep in mind when you put them on the cookie sheet, they don't spread, so you can put more on. MY KIDS AND FRIENDS RAVED ABOUT THE TASTE!!! I added 1 extra tsp. of vanilla. GREAT RECIPIE, THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
Very easy and delicious. I cut holes in 1/2 of the heart shaped cookies so when they were done baking I could spread raspberry jam on a whole cookie and put a cookie with a hole in it on top for a pretty valentine sandwich cookie. I served them to our guests on the side of a bowl of ice cream. Very pretty and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
Very good cookie--the best I've made yet for cut outs. Light and sweet taste--velvetly texture. Next time I'd add an extra tbs. of milk to help with the kneading of the dough--otherwise a great recipie. Make sure you have icing or sprinkles to decorate the cookies with, they are very plain when cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This is a great recipe. It rolls out great. I have finally found a keeper for cutout cookies! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
These were the best cut out cookies I have ever made. I have tried to make sugar cookies several times and it seems like you always have to fight with the dough. This dough was so easy to handle. I love that they come out practicly white so they can be decorated any way you want. My 4yr old and I made heart cookies for Valentine's Day and we used the powdered sugar icing to decorate they came out wonderful. His Pre-k teacher asked if I would make a couple dozen undecorated for the kids to decorate and all the kids loved them. I will definately keep this recipe and use this recipe any time I want to make cut out cookies. Thanks Jelly for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE BULANDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
I made these last year for Valentine's day. They send very well. I cut out a lot of large hearts, then half of them I cut out a small heart from the middle of each heart, so I had sandwiches, with windows in the top half. I added almond extract to the batter - and this was an awesome addition. Added a drop of red food coloring to the icing and that gave me pink icing for Valentine's day!!! My boyfriend was really excited, commented on how good the icing was. Great great gift, or mailed care package item!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
By far the best cutout cookie recipe ever! The cookies don't change shape at all! They have a long shelf-life and are very similar to traditional shortbread cookies, but are much more stable and tender! I'll be making these a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
If you are looking for a delicately tastey, white, soft but yet crisp, cut-out then this is for you. I was hoping for more cake-like cookies so this is not for me. Dough was easy to work w/ even w/out chilling. GREAT FOR USE WITH KIDS!!-no raw eggs so its a tastey and safe dough to eat :) A nice cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States