Pope's Valentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
Overall, a very tasty and tender butter cookie. Also, because of so few ingredients, it is quick to mix. The dough was a little difficult to work with -- so I cheated and rolled it out between two sheets of waxed paper, set it on a cookie sheet, froze it for about 20 minutes, then cut out the frozen dough. (I do this with almost all cut out cookie dough. It works great and the cookies don't lose their shape!) Since I used small cutters, I reduced the baking time to 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Nice texture and taste. I found the dough, in the original recipe a bit too crumbly. With an extra Tablespoon of milk and an extra 1/4 cup of butter, it was perfect! Thank you for sharing your recipe, Jelly. I'll be making this one for every cut-out cookie holiday, and maybe some in between!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Very easy to make, had to have my oven on 300 or the bottoms got too brown. Very tasty cookies and rolled out great. Keep in mind when you put them on the cookie sheet, they don't spread, so you can put more on. MY KIDS AND FRIENDS RAVED ABOUT THE TASTE!!! I added 1 extra tsp. of vanilla. GREAT RECIPIE, THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
these were so odd ... as others have noted, not sweet but strangely addicting. i added some almond extract, which i think helped the flavor. my husband ate them up, and the man is not a sweet-eater, so there's that. i would definitely chill the dough before rolling it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JLANAM
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
These are good and SO easy! If you use a stand mixer, you won't have to knead, and if you roll it out and bake it on parchment, there's almost no mess! We loved them with Sugar Cookie Icing on this site. Professional-looking results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
THANK YOU, JELLY!!!!! This really is the best cut-out recipe on the planet!! I have tried countless recipes for dough you don't have to refrigerate first. These are great!!!!! I put the dough on parchment paper, put plastic wrap on top of the dough and then roll, so no need for extra flour. THANKS AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
If you are looking for a delicately tastey, white, soft but yet crisp, cut-out then this is for you. I was hoping for more cake-like cookies so this is not for me. Dough was easy to work w/ even w/out chilling. GREAT FOR USE WITH KIDS!!-no raw eggs so its a tastey and safe dough to eat :) A nice cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
By far, the best cut-out cookies I've ever made. I've been using this recipe for 3 years now and everyone who tastes them agrees that they are, indeed, the best tasting cookies. My only suggestion is that you bake the cookies a bit longer than 12 minutes, especially if you're making them thicker. Also, suggest using parchment paper to bake on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
I made these last year for Valentine's day. They send very well. I cut out a lot of large hearts, then half of them I cut out a small heart from the middle of each heart, so I had sandwiches, with windows in the top half. I added almond extract to the batter - and this was an awesome addition. Added a drop of red food coloring to the icing and that gave me pink icing for Valentine's day!!! My boyfriend was really excited, commented on how good the icing was. Great great gift, or mailed care package item!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
These cookies are great! I am a novice baker/ cook, but this recipe was easy to follow. The dough was very easy to handle (I love that it doesnt need to be chilled). I will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States