Pope's Valentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
If you are looking for a delicately tastey, white, soft but yet crisp, cut-out then this is for you. I was hoping for more cake-like cookies so this is not for me. Dough was easy to work w/ even w/out chilling. GREAT FOR USE WITH KIDS!!-no raw eggs so its a tastey and safe dough to eat :) A nice cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
By far the best cutout cookie recipe ever! The cookies don't change shape at all! They have a long shelf-life and are very similar to traditional shortbread cookies, but are much more stable and tender! I'll be making these a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
The dough is very easy to handle and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Nice texture and taste. I found the dough, in the original recipe a bit too crumbly. With an extra Tablespoon of milk and an extra 1/4 cup of butter, it was perfect! Thank you for sharing your recipe, Jelly. I'll be making this one for every cut-out cookie holiday, and maybe some in between!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
Based on all of wonderful reviews, I was hoping for an extraordinary cookie, but they are really quite ordinary. Yes, it was easy and rolled out well, but this is just a recipe for a flaky shortbread cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
Overall, a very tasty and tender butter cookie. Also, because of so few ingredients, it is quick to mix. The dough was a little difficult to work with -- so I cheated and rolled it out between two sheets of waxed paper, set it on a cookie sheet, froze it for about 20 minutes, then cut out the frozen dough. (I do this with almost all cut out cookie dough. It works great and the cookies don't lose their shape!) Since I used small cutters, I reduced the baking time to 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
This recipe was just perfect for what we needed -- fast and simple enough for my 3 year old to help - a lot! They are the most delicious shortbread cookie I have ever tasted, and baked beautifully. Sure to become a family classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Very easy to make, had to have my oven on 300 or the bottoms got too brown. Very tasty cookies and rolled out great. Keep in mind when you put them on the cookie sheet, they don't spread, so you can put more on. MY KIDS AND FRIENDS RAVED ABOUT THE TASTE!!! I added 1 extra tsp. of vanilla. GREAT RECIPIE, THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
These were the best cut out cookies I have ever made. I have tried to make sugar cookies several times and it seems like you always have to fight with the dough. This dough was so easy to handle. I love that they come out practicly white so they can be decorated any way you want. My 4yr old and I made heart cookies for Valentine's Day and we used the powdered sugar icing to decorate they came out wonderful. His Pre-k teacher asked if I would make a couple dozen undecorated for the kids to decorate and all the kids loved them. I will definately keep this recipe and use this recipe any time I want to make cut out cookies. Thanks Jelly for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE BULANDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
Very good cookie--the best I've made yet for cut outs. Light and sweet taste--velvetly texture. Next time I'd add an extra tbs. of milk to help with the kneading of the dough--otherwise a great recipie. Make sure you have icing or sprinkles to decorate the cookies with, they are very plain when cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States