Pope's Valentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
These weren't as good as I expected. The dough was very crumbly & hard to work with. They are good, but not as simple as it sounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFORWARDING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
We really enjoyed these simple cookies. I too had trouble cutting out the shapes, but the wax paper/freezer trick was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
A very simple and tasty cookie. I added the zest from one lemon right into the butter mixture before adding the flour and sugar, and I iced the cookies with a cream cheese butter frosting. The lemon adds a delicate depth of flavor. Will definitely hold onto this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
As others mentioned, easy and quick to work with. I have four children and these are perfect for classroom occasions and such. Not too sweet so you don't have to worry what icing you choose, and it's easy to add your prefered flavour. I'll be using this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This recipes was VERY easy to do. The dough was very easy to work with. Like others stated, not much flavor. I even added almond extract as well as vanilla. Maybe some orange or lemon zest next time. Will keep recipe for future because it's very fast & easy, but will need to modified for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Really easy. I whipped up a half-batch in about 45 minutes, start-to-finish. Not super-sweet like a sugar cookie, more like a rolled shortbread cookie. I dipped mine in ganache - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
These were so easy and tasted so good. I they are great if you need to cut specific shapes. I used it to make rays of sun coming of a cake a did by free hand cutting the dough with a knife to create various shapes, it turned out great! I iced them and my guest goobled them up faster than the cake. I have had many request to make them and pass the recipe around. They almost taste like a short bread cookie to me. Anyway they were crunchier than I like cookies to be but I think I over cooked them a tad, but regardless they tasted great just like that. If I weren't out of powdered sugar I would be making some right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
these were so odd ... as others have noted, not sweet but strangely addicting. i added some almond extract, which i think helped the flavor. my husband ate them up, and the man is not a sweet-eater, so there's that. i would definitely chill the dough before rolling it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
These cookies were very easy to make and taste really yummy!! I made letter cut-out cookies for my daughter's first day of kindergarten. My family devoured the remaining cookies after letters A-Z! A word of caution though - the cookies are nice and hard, like shortbread, and will break very easily when dropped (my daughter dropped the box of cookies and almost every cookie broke -- ugh! :( ) Her class still ate every single one of them though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S.D
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Made this as our anniversary surprize's gift for my boyfriend.Such a wonderful recipe esp. no chilling required for the cookie dough.Instead of icing/frosting,i dipped them in melted chocolate and they tasted great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States