Pope's Valentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
These cookies are delicious, and super simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Junior's_Mommy
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
These were good. Not too sweet and the dough was easy to work with. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junior's_Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
These are wonderful cookies that are so simple to fix. I can have a batch made and be all cleaned up in an hour! They are similar to a shortbread cookie and taste great plain or with the sugar cookie icing several have recommended (available on this site). It doesn't make a ton of cookies - about 2-3 dozen, which is fine, because I seem to be the only one in my family who likes them! One hint: they don't spread when baking, so you can put them pretty close together and get more out of a batch. Mine were perfect after 12 minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
These are such great cookies for kids to make since they don't have egg in them. You can snack on the cookie dough to your hearts content. My husband especially enjoyed these and he is picky when it comes to cookies. My 1 yr old loved the ones in a car shape and his friends really liked the valentine shaped ones. Next time I'll try icing instead of sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
These were delicious! IT was such a nice change from the average sugar cookie. I only baked them for 8-10 minutes because I wanted a softer cookie. I topped these with cream cheese frosting. These will become a Valentine tradition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
We've made these 2 times to give them a fair rating & they were still AWFUL!!!! I couldn't give it a zero so it got a 1. There was NO flavor/taste. I did use almond hoping for something, but still AWFUL. I'll stick with my sugar cookie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
We made these for a girls club at church, and we needed at least 24. I had to make double batches because they kept disappearing. Had only vanilla, but they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Made these for Valentines Day...they were so delicious! More of a shortbread cookie than a sugar cookie, but the were so tender and good. I sprinkled some with pink sprinkles and dipped some halfway in melted dark chocolate. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Loved this recipe. Followed it as instructed and I did not have any problems. It is important to use dry ingredients that have been sifted and then measured as oppossed to measuring first and then sifting. This is a crisp and not sugary sweet cookie making it ideal for frosting or sugar sprinkled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I found the cookies a little dull in flavor for the amount of caleries and fat. The dough was a little difficult to work with, it kept crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States