Pope's Valentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by sunny
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This is a pretty easy recipe, I was amazed how fast I was done, including the baking, but it seems to me 12 min is not enough time. Actually, I think they are O.K, I wouldn't say they are really tasty, but they are acceptable...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Excellent cookies! I'm a beginner baker, so I had a lot of trouble working the dough, until I pulled a trick I learned from Alton Brown and put a cookie sheet in the freezer and then rested it on the dough after rolling so it soaked up the cold and was better to work with. Also, I rolled with powdered sugar, no toughened cookies and it didn't make the cookies too sweet. Delicious! I can't keep my hands off of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I nearly went into a panic a few moments ago when I lost my paper copy and couldn't find this recipe again on the website. I've used it countless times for cookies big and small...it's a perfect dough to work with and simply delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
These are good, fun to make, and bake quickly. Just a regular sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kady-June

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Al Bird
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I liked the look of these cookies so decided to give them a try. I followed recipe to a science but the dough was VERY flakey so I added in one EXTRA tablespoon of milk. Made a difference in rolling these out. The fun part was decorating them. Along with a simple butter cream frosting, I used dragees and edible pink and silver glitter. Very good cut out cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Al Bird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Pretty ok. It was very simple and straightforward to make. It wasn't super tasty, but i guess it was alright as far as basic sugar cookies go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
More like a biscuit than a cookie. Don't think I'll be making this one again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Very good cookies! I made heart shaped ones and used the "sugar cookie glaze" from this site. I did refridgerate the dough, and then worked with my hands to avoid using too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I never wright reviews..but this was my first time making a sugar cut out cookie and I was so impressed. It was so easy. Took the advice and put parchment on the bottom and saran wrap on the top. I am letting them cool and then going to dip in chocolate. YUM. THANK YOU. I will be using this recipe all year around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
THANK YOU, JELLY!!!!! This really is the best cut-out recipe on the planet!! I have tried countless recipes for dough you don't have to refrigerate first. These are great!!!!! I put the dough on parchment paper, put plastic wrap on top of the dough and then roll, so no need for extra flour. THANKS AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States