Pope's Valentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
These are good, fun to make, and bake quickly. Just a regular sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kady-June

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Al Bird
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I liked the look of these cookies so decided to give them a try. I followed recipe to a science but the dough was VERY flakey so I added in one EXTRA tablespoon of milk. Made a difference in rolling these out. The fun part was decorating them. Along with a simple butter cream frosting, I used dragees and edible pink and silver glitter. Very good cut out cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Al Bird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Pretty ok. It was very simple and straightforward to make. It wasn't super tasty, but i guess it was alright as far as basic sugar cookies go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
More like a biscuit than a cookie. Don't think I'll be making this one again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Very good cookies! I made heart shaped ones and used the "sugar cookie glaze" from this site. I did refridgerate the dough, and then worked with my hands to avoid using too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I never wright reviews..but this was my first time making a sugar cut out cookie and I was so impressed. It was so easy. Took the advice and put parchment on the bottom and saran wrap on the top. I am letting them cool and then going to dip in chocolate. YUM. THANK YOU. I will be using this recipe all year around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
THANK YOU, JELLY!!!!! This really is the best cut-out recipe on the planet!! I have tried countless recipes for dough you don't have to refrigerate first. These are great!!!!! I put the dough on parchment paper, put plastic wrap on top of the dough and then roll, so no need for extra flour. THANKS AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
These cookies are delicious, and super simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Junior's_Mommy
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
These were good. Not too sweet and the dough was easy to work with. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junior's_Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
These are wonderful cookies that are so simple to fix. I can have a batch made and be all cleaned up in an hour! They are similar to a shortbread cookie and taste great plain or with the sugar cookie icing several have recommended (available on this site). It doesn't make a ton of cookies - about 2-3 dozen, which is fine, because I seem to be the only one in my family who likes them! One hint: they don't spread when baking, so you can put them pretty close together and get more out of a batch. Mine were perfect after 12 minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States