Pope's Valentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Cooknmama2
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Awesome!!! I chilled the dough for a few minutes, then rolled it out between 2 pieces of waxed paper. That way the dough was very easy to work with and my little daughter could help without getting messy. The taste was amazing. These were gobbled up in minutes at my daughter's Valentine's Day party! Will use this recipe for cut out cookies from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I have read most of the reviews of this recipe and I have no complaints about this recipe at all. I have never found a recipe (that comes together and doesn't crumble) as good as this one. I think it tastes great and it was easy to make. I will definately be making this recipe again. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherriep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Not very sweet, but excellent texture and appearance. The perfect sugar cookies for icing and decorations. These also roll out beautifully and do not stick, which is a major bonus when baking with children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Metcalf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These turned out great! the only reason I didn't give it five stars is because I like my sugar cookies to be more cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Best sugar cookie recipe I've come across. I doubled it and it still turned out great. Dough is truly velvety and easy to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These cokies turned out nice and soft, but I felt they were a little lacking in flavor. The dough was too dry to form a ball and so I had to double the liquid. I added lemon juice as well for a little flavor. With those small changes, the cookies turned out yummy. I also found the recipe very simple, which is a bonus when you are making them with 5 little children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLIEFLOWER21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I never post reviews, but this one I had to! these are the absolute best butter/shortbread cookies in the world! The dough is so easy to work with (I did follow the advoce of previous reviews and increase the butter by 1/4 cup and I added a Tablespoon vanilla). I used the sugar cookie icing recipe from this site and the finished productslook and taste just like they came from an expensive bakery! This is my new cut out cookie recipe for sure! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunny
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This is a pretty easy recipe, I was amazed how fast I was done, including the baking, but it seems to me 12 min is not enough time. Actually, I think they are O.K, I wouldn't say they are really tasty, but they are acceptable...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Excellent cookies! I'm a beginner baker, so I had a lot of trouble working the dough, until I pulled a trick I learned from Alton Brown and put a cookie sheet in the freezer and then rested it on the dough after rolling so it soaked up the cold and was better to work with. Also, I rolled with powdered sugar, no toughened cookies and it didn't make the cookies too sweet. Delicious! I can't keep my hands off of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I nearly went into a panic a few moments ago when I lost my paper copy and couldn't find this recipe again on the website. I've used it countless times for cookies big and small...it's a perfect dough to work with and simply delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States