Pope's Valentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Yummy! i did need to add more milk because the dough was too crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Arroyo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Made these into Linzer hearts and they were FANTASTIC! Just the right amount of sweet to go with the strawberry jam--My kids will devour them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Love it...but it does need litle more flour than said. Have nice buttery cookies...!!!!! thanks I will never buy another butter cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Didn't care much for this cookie. Bland taste and I followed the recipe as written. I won't make these again, its not a sugar cookie, not a butter cookie, something in between. Needs a flavor boost for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
it was pretty, that's about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
These turned out great! I ended up adding extra milk because the dough was too dry. Frosted them with a classic milk and powdered sugar frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chelsea, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Is it possible there is an ingredient missing? I made 3 batches of these and they were too dry and crumbly to roll.. had to add liquid. Not very tasty... dry and cardboard-like. very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
These cookies turned out beautifully. I whipped the butter in my standing mixer, added the rest of ingredients to mixer (used light cream, had no milk), they were perfect texture to roll between parchment sheets. I baked them on parchment, ground red sprinkles with a tsp of confectioner's sugar, sprinkled over and baked as directed. I used a small heart cookie cutter and ended up with 60 perfect cookies. Nice recipe, I"ll make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe just as it is. I made no changes and it was perfect. This cookie is more like a short bread than a sugar cook which I prefer because it's buttery and not sicky sweet. The cookie does stay white and makes the decorations on top look professional. I will use this recipe for all of my holiday and special occasion cut out cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kacey78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I've had wayyyy better. not a sugar cookie, not a butter cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angesantoro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States