Pope's Valentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I have made these cookies several times within the last year for holidays. Just made them last week for Halloween in a pumpkin shape. I find them to be light and delicious and so do my small children and my husband. We usually decorate them for the holidays with a simple confectioners sugar glaze but my husband would eat them all plain if I let him. I always double the pure vanilla, maybe this is why we love the taste? In any case, I use my Kitchen Aide mixer which makes it so easy to whip up a batch. If you have time, you can chill the dough for some time but it's not necessary. I try to use very little flour for rolling them out so if you find the dough very sticky, you can roll it out between either 2 pieces of plastic wrap or wax paper. This is a staple cookie recipe in my house. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
The Bomb!!! These are Not your average cut out cookies! These remind me of a whipped shortbread taste wise Delicious! The dough was so Easy to work with this will replace my old cut out Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This is the perfect no-egg "sugar cookie" recipe! It's a little like a shortbread cookie, but just the right amount of sweet. It works VERY well with cookie cutters (doesn't spread out or puff up too much). My little ones love them and my husband thinks they're not bad for a cookie without chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
These cookies are incredible! Very light and buttery - almost like a shortbread cookie. I will be making them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I really liked these cookies. The taste isn't overly sweet and that's good because the frosting I used is super sweet so these were perfect. I can't bake at all...especially roll out cookies and to my suprise I had no problems with this recipe. The dough came out perfect and rolled out easy. I did chill it for just a few minutes in the freezer but I probably didn't have to. I will be using this recipe from now on for all my cut out cookie baking needs. Thanks so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Loved it! Easy to do, roll and bake. Cookies came out thin, crispy...melts in your mouth. I added 1/2 tsp of almond extract as well. Really adds a nice flavor and aroma too. Cooked cookies for 14min instead of 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
These came out PERFECT and I stink at baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Yummy! i did need to add more milk because the dough was too crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Made these into Linzer hearts and they were FANTASTIC! Just the right amount of sweet to go with the strawberry jam--My kids will devour them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Love it...but it does need litle more flour than said. Have nice buttery cookies...!!!!! thanks I will never buy another butter cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States