Pope's Valentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
These cookies are great! I am a novice baker/ cook, but this recipe was easy to follow. The dough was very easy to handle (I love that it doesnt need to be chilled). I will definitely make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
i made these on valentine's day. they turned out perfectly, though the dough was too dry to roll out, i had to add a little extra milk. it's a very good shortbread type of cookie. i used my homemade buttercream frosting on these, with red sugar sprinkled on top. i'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuakerBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monticello, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carthage, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JLANAM
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
These are good and SO easy! If you use a stand mixer, you won't have to knead, and if you roll it out and bake it on parchment, there's almost no mess! We loved them with Sugar Cookie Icing on this site. Professional-looking results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Thanks for a terrific recipe, what a light and tender cookie, I used both vanilla and lemon flavoring, topped some with sanding sugar prior to baking, iced others with milk, confec sugar and lemon ext glaze. They are delicious and are great frozen too. Dough comes together excellent, great recommendation to freeze prior to cutting, results were perfect, loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Really good! I followed some tips given by others and they came out PERFECT! I made mine 1/3 inch thick, so I had to triple the recipe just to get 30 large (3 inches wide) heart-shaped cookies. Thank you! These ARE great with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Thank you Jelly! I used a different shortbread cookie at Christmas time, and boy do I regret it now. This is THE shortbread recipe. The cookies come out tender and melt-in-your-mouth delicious every time. It makes a smallish batch so you don't have to set aside a whole day to make them. I have made this recipe four time in the past few days and am mailing the cookies to friends for Valentine's Day. These are fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Very easy to make! Great tasting also. I have had some other sugar cookie recipes bomb but this was just the recipe I was looking for! Thanks for sharing the Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Great! I chilled my dough a bit and they were so easy to make. Also piled on the colored sugar before baking! If you're looking for a sweet tasting cookie, I'd recommend using icing on these. My husband calls them the perfect coffee cookie. A keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
These are much more of a shortbread than a sugar cookie - not sweet, and the dough is drier. Just okay for me - I prefer a traditional sweet sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Wonderful cookies! The dough has a nice texture, no refrigeration is needed and it rolls out beautifully. My daughter and I made heart cookies using this recipe. We love shortbread cookies and these turned out quite nicely, dressed up with a little icing and edible pink glitter. We'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pope's Valentine Cookies

See how to make tasty cut-out cookies for your sweetheart.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States