Popcorn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I really liked this! I used light mayo, which cut the calories a bit, and plain popcorn I popped in a paper bag in the mwo. I will be making this a lot! (popcorn is great roughage)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Very interesting and good! will make again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
An easy, crowd-pleasing "salad." I know it uses popcorn but don't expect any crunching or munching; once you mix in the mayo and ingredients, the popcorn loses its crunch and becomes more of a "pasta substitute." I have another similar recipe for Popcorn Salad that also incorporates apple cider vinegar; I prefer that version to this one; has much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I make this recipe during the summer for outdoor barbecue parties. My version is pretty much triple the ingredients listed and I always use 1/2 cup finely chopped onion instead of the chives. I also use far less bacon - 1/2 lb. for a triple recipe. I find that mixing all ingredients together EXCEPT for the popcorn helps to blend the flavors. I add the popcorn just before serving. If you have Old Dutch popcorn available in your area it's the best brand to use. It has few hulls and isn't overly salted. Any commercial popcorn will work better than homemade because it's lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janisko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This is a yummy fun salad. It will be a hit with your family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Hmm, not bad, but not quite as good as I was expecting. The popcorn loses its crunch when mixed into the rest of the salad (which, for the record, is NOT easy to do) and becomes pretty chewy. And yes, I waited until just before serving it to mix it together. Others seemed to like it but I was not impressed. Also, maybe I shouldn't have used sharp cheddar, but the cheese was all I could taste, even with that bacon in there (and I didn't even add the extra cheese sprinkled on top!). I think the same basic recipe might be good with a different (or milder-flavored) cheese and used as a pasta salad base instead of with the popcorn. The other ingredients are a nice mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
The best ive every had,im an aussie moved to MN for 5ys and went to a reunion and thought wow!! It is a conversation piece to all.And now ive returned to Australia i make it here!! and ican tell you it a huge hit with all i know!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Even my husband thought this was great. He usually won't eat any salad with mayo. The trick is to use only regular mayonnaise.Low fat will make the salad soggy right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I read all the other 5^ reviews but I guess I just don't get it. It is such an odd comination but I thought I would try it anyway. I wish I would have put all those ingredients on cooked pasta instead. I feel like I wasted alot of bacon etc for nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very good. I tried this today. Sounds weird, but it works well. One of our daughters thought it was a little heavy on the celery. She wasn't impressed, but she said she'd eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshineTeam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States