Popcorn Candy Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This recipe is a flop. It is not like rice crispy treats. The proportions are wrong. The butter marshmallow mixture is runny and deflates the popcorn into an unchewable mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This turned out great! I ended up using six cups of popcorn instead of two. Very easy to make. It reminds me of the chocolate covered popcorn that I bought from the boy scouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very good! Kids loved em too! My littlest one even wanted to take them to school when it was her day to take treats. 8 or so cups of popped corn is what I used. I think 2 is a typo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Just made this! Adding red food coloring for holiday fun & I used holiday M&M's and they looked adorable. Pulled out my old air popper for the first time in ages, not sure how much poped popcorn I had, about 6-8 cups (1/2 cup unpopped)it was perfect. I had no problem with the balls keeping shape, I just used lots of butter on my hands and took from the top of the pan (cooler) shaped in to palm sized balls and set on wax paper to set up. Thanks! I think I will make a green batch to go with it for neighbor treats!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
There should be more than two cups of popcorn in this recipe. Mine came out too marshmallow-y. They just need more popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Was esay to make and was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
THE CHILDREN IN MY FAMILY JUST CANT GET ENOUGH OF THEM!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I just made a bunch of these just now for my sons birthday party tomorrow I didn't use the chocolate bits though, I used sour candies. They taste GREAT! They stuck together very well, I added a bit more marshmallows though, just because we like them chewy. But all around a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
these things were a sticky mess! they were delicious once I finally got them semi-formed into balls but with the marshmallow and butter mixture-- it was a tough make! won't be doing these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
We made these popcorn balls as an activity in the group home I work in. After following other suggestions of using less mashmallow (we used half a bag), chewy caramel bites and 3 bags of microwave popcorn we decided these were a hit. Such a hit in fact that I'm making them for nieces and nephews for Halloween!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Peach Gelee Candy

See how to make jellied candy with fresh peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States