Popcorn Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I only use 14 C of popcorn to make it slightly more gooey. Yum! My favorite is M&Ms with honey roasted peanuts. We aren't big gumdrop fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carriehep
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made this recipe when I needed a quick and easy, gluten free treat to share. I popped the popcorn with our Whirley Pop, using a 1/2 cup of popcorn. It gave me about 15 cups of popped popcorn and I felt it was a good amount for this recipe. I added 1 cup each of peanuts and M&M's instead of the gum drops. I loved how colorful and festive it looked and it tasted great too! My kids loved it and the grownups did too. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I made this for a 4th of July BBQ today; the kids especially enjoyed it as well as the adults. I used 3 packages of Microwave popcorn and found some red and blue M&M's to use for decorating the top. Was very festive looking. There were no leftovers. I like how you can change this to compliment any occasion. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I made this cake for my sons 6th birthday party because I made cake pops and needed a cake to put candles in. I had stumbled onto the popcorn cake and was so excited to try it. I am so sorry to say that I am the only one who liked the cake. It looked beautiful. The candy additions I used were awesome. Smarties, mini rolo's, chocolate covered pretzels all mixed together with that yummy marshmallow covered popcorn. I couldn't use peanuts as all kids facilities are nut free here in Toronto but still, I can't understand why no one liked it. Not one of the kids took a 2nd bite. Personally, I give it 5 stars because I thought it was delicious and a nice alternative to a traditional cake but the kids have spoken, all of them. Thank goodness I made the cake pops!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Delicious! It tastes just like a popcorn ball without having to go through the hassle of cooking a syrup, using a candy thermometer, etc. I used my air popper and used the required 1/2 c scooper to measure the kernels. That yielded 14 c of popped corn, so about 1 1/4 batches made enough popped corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I love the idea of this cake! It is so versatile and you can use it at ANY holiday function. Plus you can make it colorful so kids love it as well. I made it for a Halloween potluck and used Candy Corn and Peanuts. Then I pressed it into a bowl, drizzled orange frosting on it and made it look like a pumpkin. I melted and molded chocolate to make a stem - so it was all edible. You could use any mold and the possiblities are endless with this one. Almost everyone asked me for the recipe - And it's SO SIMPLE! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma4Lyfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was good! It was easy to boot and a great recipe for those hot days when I don't want to turn on the oven, but need a tasty dessert! Instead of gumdrops, I used chocolate chips, and it eased that chocolate craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This is very easy and very tasty! I mixed in honey roasted peanuts and semi-sweet chocolate chips. I also pressed the mix into a 9x13 pan instead of bundt so I could cut squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Just like I remember my Mom making for us as kids when we went camping. I didn't use gum drops and I didn't have any peanuts. So, I used different kinds of chocolate chips (peanut butter chips, milk chocolate, and semi sweet). It was a hit with the kids and adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
We used microwave popcorn.. 4 bags of popcorn 1 & 1/2 cups of cashews and 1 & 1/2 cups of M & M's. It was too much Popcorn to fit in the bundt cake pan, so we put the rest in the bowl. what a treat. Everyone love it.. Wanted to share our idea and experiment with you. With 13 teenages here for a party it was gone!!!!Yummy!!Yummy!!Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia  Jaworowicz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States