Popcorn Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is a great treat. We call it "monkey food". I made a half batch. This time instead of a caked which would have to be pulled apart or cut, I made these into balls. The half batch made 10 good sized balls. Before forming the balls I sprayed my hands with butter flavored cooking spray. I place each ball on it's own square of waxed paper and after it's cooled I wrap it up and tape it shut. It's easy to transport and I use the wax paper to hold on so my hands don't get sticky. I used more m&m's than the recipe called for. Instead of popping corn, I used a bag of microwave popcorn, which worked well. One regular sized bag would make a half batch, two would make a whole batch. The 94% fat free healthy pop or the Crispy and White kind work great because they are not greasy. If you wanted to dress this up for a bake sale or school treat you could drizzle the cake or balls with melted chocolate or cover in sprinkles for kids. Either would be fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie-Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Good stuff! Used the red, green and gold m&m's and ommitted the nuts. Very "pretty" and I found that it works best using an angel food pan oppossed to a bundt pan unless the bundt pan is buttered WELL. I also lightly salted the popcorn and maybe next time I will try using cookie decorations/sprinkles instead of the chocolate candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
Neat idea!!!!!! My kids loved it...and so did the adults. Grandma ate the most!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
I made this recipe for my kids to take to their school Christmas parties and got rave review from kids and teachers alike! It is February and I'm still emailing the recipe to mothers of some of the students.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This was super easy and I got so many compliments at our church Christmas banquet. The grown-ups loved the idea of popcorn cake and the kids loved picking at the M&M's. It was a big hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
very attractive. got lots of attention at a super bowl party. salted nuts give it a sweet/salty yummy contrast. in the future i may try using food coloring in the marshmallow mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
I made this recipe for my company picnic and it was great! Everyone loved it. It made a lot more than my bundt pan would hold, so maybe have another pan ready when you mix it up. I WILL be making this again.Thanks, Johnna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Pope
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Yummmm! This recipe is sooo good. I took it to our company picnic and the kids loved it. I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Pope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This had good flavor and a great idea, but mine was sticky and never really set up like rice krispies treats do when they cool...maybe the amount of marshmallow isn't accurate? They come in 10 oz bags, I used 1 1/2 plus a little more. Really easy to make! I used 2 large casserole dishes instead of a big bowl, because my "big" bowl didn't really leave mixing room after all the dry ingredients were in. We sprayed our hands with non stick spray and just grabbed handfuls and filled the bundt pan. With a little alteration this could be really fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was sooooo good! It was so easy to make and took very little time! I added crushed pretzels too. Also, after removing from the pan, I melted dipping chocolate, poured it over the cake, and let sit until it hardened. Major hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Iron Cupcake Challenge

Join us in Milwaukee with Allrecipes cook Sandy for the Iron Cupcake Challenge.

How to Decorate a Cake with Fondant

Make any cake fancy and sleek using fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States