Popcorn Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
THe kids likes it. I thought that it was not that great... I had expected something along the lines of a rice crispie treat...but the hard part of the popped corn age it a wierd texture. Too bad...I love popcorn and rice crispie treats... But not this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was sooooo good! It was so easy to make and took very little time! I added crushed pretzels too. Also, after removing from the pan, I melted dipping chocolate, poured it over the cake, and let sit until it hardened. Major hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I added craisins (dried cranberries) , white chocolate chips , M & M's and it is yummy . I am going to make for the holidays and add red or green food coloring - for the kiddies .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aspen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Excellent made for Kenny Millers BD. Cut down on the MMs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This is a great treat. We call it "monkey food". I made a half batch. This time instead of a caked which would have to be pulled apart or cut, I made these into balls. The half batch made 10 good sized balls. Before forming the balls I sprayed my hands with butter flavored cooking spray. I place each ball on it's own square of waxed paper and after it's cooled I wrap it up and tape it shut. It's easy to transport and I use the wax paper to hold on so my hands don't get sticky. I used more m&m's than the recipe called for. Instead of popping corn, I used a bag of microwave popcorn, which worked well. One regular sized bag would make a half batch, two would make a whole batch. The 94% fat free healthy pop or the Crispy and White kind work great because they are not greasy. If you wanted to dress this up for a bake sale or school treat you could drizzle the cake or balls with melted chocolate or cover in sprinkles for kids. Either would be fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie-Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Took this to SuperBowl and it was a hit! Loved by kids and adults alike, and I was asked for the recipe several times. My one complaint was that it didn't set-up completely and was a bit sticky. I was hoping it would solidify a little more like rice crispy treats, but that was not the case. Still yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
A tip I discovered to prevent problems with the m & m's breaking, melting, and accumilating in the bottom: Mix the marshmallows with the popcorn first, then add the m&m's a little at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I have been making this recipe for years. Instead of the candy and nuts I use red and green mini gum drops and make it in a angel food cake pan. It is a great gift for the neighbors. I am always ask for the recipe nomatter who I give it to or what potluck party I take it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I made this recently for the first time and I thought it was excellent...so did the parents and the 20 year olds. I had several requests for the recipe. It has a nice chewy texture and with the M&M's, a nice crunch. I added 1 cup of quartered jujubes and 1.5 cups of M&M's. I thought that was a good ratio, but the half cup of M&M's might have been much. If the popcorn part doesn't seem sweet enough, the candy pieces more than make up for that so don't add any sugar to the marshmallow unless you plan to add less than the suggested amount of candy. My recommendation is to cut the slices toward the thin side because there's plenty to chew. Thick pieces may be harder to bite through. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
What a fun and simple recipe to make with popcorn. I made this and had it sitting on my cake pedistal, when I came home I asked how come no one attempted to eat it. My husband said he thought it was a decoration! Very pretty when displayed on a cake pedistal. Very tasty also! Thanks for sharing this cute recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Iron Cupcake Challenge

Join us in Milwaukee with Allrecipes cook Sandy for the Iron Cupcake Challenge.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States