Popa's Pickled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
There should be a Pickled Eggs Anonymous chapter named after these eggs. I've never eaten a pickled egg in my life; never knew people actually ate them. Then I saw all the fuss about this recipe and it buzzed around my head for a while. Boy, am I glad I listened to all the hype. I made these with a homemade pickling spice using 36 quail eggs and 1 hen egg. My picture isn't as pretty as the other but it shows you how many quail eggs will fit in the liquid. "Refrigerate for at least two days" it says...try making them last that long. I suggest making these and then immediately abandon the house for 48 hours, only then will you let them rest as long as required. They are THAT good. Thanks to bd weld for the recipe and thanks to the other reviewers who convinced me to try these. Sometimes peer pressure is a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I don't like pickled eggs. Well, before I made these I didn't, not any longer! These were terrific except for the fact that they weren't hot enough for us. I pickled for 2 days & cut up some of the peppers. Hoping longer will give me what I need, more Heat! Thank you BD, THESE ROCK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Made for the PNW Round Up, these eggs were a hit! I didn't think I'd like them as I don't generally like hot foods. However, there is just something about these pickled eggs that I can't stay away from. I ate 3 in row. Yum! They're easy to make and really has a gourmet payoff! My two sons devoured the remainder of them (5 out of 24) after the Get-Together. I'll be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I not only got to try these at the PNW AR Round-Up but I graciously got to meet the man himself that submitted these. OH man where they good. I couldn't wait to get home and make these for my hubby. So after I talked to bd_weld about his recipe and telling me I could easily do a dozen, I did a dozen and a half. I'm finding it hysterical on my part when making the recipe, I used the really hot yellow peppers with brine and a pickling mix offered from my store because it was way cheaper then buying the Morton's. Should have gone with that because, little did I realize how loaded with dried whole red Serranos and thought, ohh what the heck, HA!! on my hubby because he said they were fantastic but...WOOO!! what a kick. I ate the yoke out of several and hmm good, so I didn't get the intense heat from the egg whites themselves... he sure did. What a great addition to my household. Will look for the milder hot peppers with brine for the next time for my children. But they seemed to like them as well. TY Brian!! we love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I have never had pickled eggs before last weekend at the PNW roundup. The recipe creator happened to attend so that was a double bonus. :) These were very good and when I got home, mentioned to my daughter who has chickens, yet another thing to try with her plethora of eggs. She asked me to send her the recipe, thought I would leave a review for them also as long as I was here. Count on me making some of my own. Can't wait to see what it does to a potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Amazing!!!! I let them soak 4 full days before tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
While my husband thought these pickled eggs were ok, I on the other hand did not like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Photo by cooks4forty
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This was so fun! I loved seeing it "stewing" all week. I had never had a pickled egg before and I really enjoyed it. I used sweet cherry peppers due to a lack of choices at my little store. They are fine, but I am looking forward to a pepper with more heat next time. I added a few dashes of sriracha sauce because my peppers were so mild. I'm making deviled eggs tonight, and will chop a few of the peppers into the filling. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Poppa picked a peck of pickled eggs. Sorry, been saying that in my head since I put this recipe together 6 days ago! These eggs are A-1! What fun to put together. I couldn't find the hot yellow peppers so I used hot pepper rings. I didn't find the end result too spicy and I must add that I do not like tumeric so I was nervous using it but I found that it blended well with the other flavours. I did enjoy the brine very much and found another way to use it in a Canadian Caesar recipe on this site. I just used a splash. The drink actually pairs very well with this snack. http://allrecipes.com/recipe/classic-canadian-caesar/detail.aspx Thanks b.d.weld for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
My husband has been asking me for years to find the "just right" pickled egg recipe. I've tried with miserable luck, that is until I tried bd's eggs at the Las Vegas Round Up! Hey, I carted the leftovers home (surprised that were any left!) to California and presented them to my husband, Randy. Bonanza! These were it! I've since made them many time, one dozen at a time. Great for my midafternoon snack or hubbie's cocktail hour appy. I like Marianne's idea for salads, sammies and deviled eggs. Well done, my friend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States