Poor Man's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Loved this dish, it was vaguely reminiscent of hamburger helper, but yummy nonetheless. I used white onion as I did not have green onion, I also used instant brown rice. Turned out delish. I did take from other reviews and added garlic to the onion and beef. Next time I will use ground turkey and instead of rice a mini macaroni. Worth making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I didn't have green onions so I caramelized a whole white onion and then toasted some almond slices (sat both aside) then browned the meat and added all the other ingredients plus the onion and almonds and a can of corn. It was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
We have made this for years--but we call it "hamburger mush". Never thought of using soy sauce in it before though and like the taste with it in it. We also add some garlic or garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I substitute smoke flavoring for soy sauce. Been making this a couple years now, and I would have said 4, but my husband requests it so much and can't get enough, so I have to give it a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe and my husband really loved it. However I would suggest doubling it if you plan on feeding more than just four people. I thought it would make a lot, however it did not. I think next time I will add green beans to it, or even ram-en noodles. My husband said it reminded him of hamburger helper beef Stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbizz13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was an easy dinner, I doubled the recipe and used 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of celery. I added 1/2 cup of milk to make it creamy. I omitted the green onions and added my own seasoning blend. I also used white long grain rice because that's all I had. The dish came out flavorful and I would make it again. The only thing I didn't like was the look of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
When I visited friends in CA over twenty years ago, my friend's mom called this "Slop". I thought it was so incredibly delicious!!!! Years later, it is still a comfort food for me, not to mention quick and easy to throw together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Greenfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Great dish for kids to help with. This is one of my favorite dishes from childhood. Flexible too, I have always used yellow onions instead of green. The missing ingredient here is to put crunchy chow mein noodles on the top for the last part of the baking process. We always made it with the noodles on top and it really seems naked w/o it! This casserole is not elaborate by any means but if you want simple comfort food I think this is the greatest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was barely ok. I would not recomend it unless you just need to use up some brown rice. There are better recipes with hamburger and mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is homemade hamburger helper. It was ok for a quick fix. Next time I will just cook the rice in with the other. I also added frozen corn and green beans to the hamburger mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piper06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States