Poor Man's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I substitute smoke flavoring for soy sauce. Been making this a couple years now, and I would have said 4, but my husband requests it so much and can't get enough, so I have to give it a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I had ground beef, mushroom soup, and brown rice and needed a recipe to use what I had on hand. PERFECT! Was so easy and the worchestershire and soy sauces gave it a lovely flavor. I did saute chopped regular onion with the beef and added a bit of garlic. I asked my husband if I should make it again and he said, "Definitely!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
After tweaking, i would give it 5 stars. I added garlic and 1/2 bag frozen peas. spread in pan and then topped with mashed poatatos, then baked til golden. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Sorry, looked and tasted bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
When I visited friends in CA over twenty years ago, my friend's mom called this "Slop". I thought it was so incredibly delicious!!!! Years later, it is still a comfort food for me, not to mention quick and easy to throw together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Greenfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
My family loves this recipe. I use onion powder instead of green onions and minute rice instead of brown rice...just for ease of cooking. It's fast and easy to make and doesn't taste like it's out of a box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This was great for a quick meal. I made a low-fat version using ground turkey and low-fat cream of mushroom soup. I used white onions instead of green onions and added canned mushrooms. I also double the sauces for extra flavor. It was served with orzo and fresh cucumbers. The trick with this recipe is layering the flavor, I added each ingredient stirred and cooked and added the soup last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Enjoyed it very much, there was none left. It was a great "quick" but very tasty meal. I added frozen peas and carrots to add the vegetable to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
We have made this for years--but we call it "hamburger mush". Never thought of using soy sauce in it before though and like the taste with it in it. We also add some garlic or garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was an easy dinner, I doubled the recipe and used 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of celery. I added 1/2 cup of milk to make it creamy. I omitted the green onions and added my own seasoning blend. I also used white long grain rice because that's all I had. The dish came out flavorful and I would make it again. The only thing I didn't like was the look of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States