Poor Man's Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
wow. I cant believe I ate that. and even more, I cant believe I liked that. I think my choice of sugar free pb was helpful. it reminded me of dill pickle potato chips (which I dont know if they have in the US). next time I have a craving for chips, I will eat this freaky sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
What can I say - I had to try it! This combination worked really well. I think the key is balance; too much of any one of the ingredients would have thrown it off, but if you don't go overboard on anything it all gets together and sings. Reminded me a bit of bread-and-butter pickles; tangy, but sweet, and with a little bite from the onion. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
I loved this recipe. I had to try it because it was so different and didn't really think I would like it all. The flavors really compliment each other.I used Claussen Sandwich Stackers and red onioin. It's standard lunch box fare now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
i really loved this and i think my husband was terrified that i was pregnant when he saw the ingredients! It was really good and my nieces and nephew also liked it! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I had to try this because it reminded me of a sandwich that my grandfather eats all the time for breakfast which is... PB, mayo and raisens on ww toast. This was surprisingly good as is my grandpa's oldtime favorite. I think I'd like it better with no onion though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treatdream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was a very interesting sandwich and it was a lot of fun to try. My husband and I both enjoyed it very much. I like the flavor of raw onions as long as it is not very strong so I only used about half of the amount suggested. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This sandwich (hold the onion) is my dad's and my favorite. We thought we were weird for liking this concoction. It's nice to know that we are not alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
This sounded so weird I just had to try it. It was amazing! My husband thought I was crazy and asked if I was pregnant again, but after I assured him I wasn't, the curiosity got the best of him, too... and HE really liked it as well! You just have to try it to believe it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
One of my co-workers eats a peanut butter and pickle sandwich every day. He enjoys both the sandwich and grossing us out. Well, his fun is over, because I made this version (with the onion) and I love it. I used Light Miracle Whip because I don't use mayonnaise. I suggest toasting the whole wheat bread. Six pickle slices seems excessive to me; I used two "sandwich slice" pickle slices instead. The combination of flavors really is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Thanks for this easy sandwich idea. My siblings loved them. Who would have ever thought that those five ingredients would work so well together? Anyways, this one will definitely be used often for a quick lunch. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96

Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States