Poor Man's Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
OMG! I thought my sister and I were the only people that ate a PB and pickle sandwich. Never put mayo or onion on it though. Just straight up Peanut Butter and pickle. I think Mt. Olive pickles are the best!!! I love me some PB and pickles! Woot! Woot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmazon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cross Lanes, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
My husband told me about this sandwich when we were first married... I thought he was joking! But after 21 years of marriage he's got me liking them almost as much as he does. We always add lettuce to ours... makes a nice sandwich for those times when you didn't make it out to the grocery store (Hey, what happened to all the ham!) or you're having those "right before payday" blues :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Wow, I was extremely skeptical at first but I decided to try it since I had all the ingredients on hand. AND BOY, was I pleasantly surprised! It tastes great and I was sure afraid that the peanut butter would be overwhelming but that was not the case at all. (Yet I did keep the mayo at a minimal.) Every ingredient brings together a balanced taste as a whole and oddly enough, each ingredient can still be detected with every bite! I highly recommend this! Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
To me there wasn't any flavor that stood out. I would much rather have peanut butter and jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
What can I say - I had to try it! This combination worked really well. I think the key is balance; too much of any one of the ingredients would have thrown it off, but if you don't go overboard on anything it all gets together and sings. Reminded me a bit of bread-and-butter pickles; tangy, but sweet, and with a little bite from the onion. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
It sounds disgusting, but it's not! This sandwich was so weird that I just had to try it out, and even though I don't like dill pickles or peanut butter that much, put all together in between the bread it was actually pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
wasn't sure i'd like it but this gave my old favorite of pb, banana, and mayo a run for the money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I really wanted this recipe to be great since it is such an unlikely combination. It was surprisingly good but I doubt I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
One of my co-workers eats a peanut butter and pickle sandwich every day. He enjoys both the sandwich and grossing us out. Well, his fun is over, because I made this version (with the onion) and I love it. I used Light Miracle Whip because I don't use mayonnaise. I suggest toasting the whole wheat bread. Six pickle slices seems excessive to me; I used two "sandwich slice" pickle slices instead. The combination of flavors really is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This sandwich (hold the onion) is my dad's and my favorite. We thought we were weird for liking this concoction. It's nice to know that we are not alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pulled Pork Pesto Sandwich

The best of the South meets the freshest flavors of Italy.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States