Poor Man's Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
I loved this recipe. I had to try it because it was so different and didn't really think I would like it all. The flavors really compliment each other.I used Claussen Sandwich Stackers and red onioin. It's standard lunch box fare now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
WOW, I was so impressed with this. It truly sounds awful, but I've always been a risk-taker, so I just had to try it. It didn't taste great at first, but then I experimented with a little more onion, tiny bit more mayo, and then less peanut butter, at which point the true flavor suddenly came out. If you didn't like it, try that. Absolutely delicious, craving another one already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
This sounded so weird I just had to try it. It was amazing! My husband thought I was crazy and asked if I was pregnant again, but after I assured him I wasn't, the curiosity got the best of him, too... and HE really liked it as well! You just have to try it to believe it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I too was skeptical about this sandwich, but it's really delicious. It's going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines
Living In: South Point, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I couldn't believe my eyes when I read this recipe. This was a staple of mine in high school (minus the onion, though. Never have been a fan of the raw onion.) I have to admit that I loved telling my friends "what I was in the mood for" and watching their faces. Actually, I'm a mother of four and I still love telling my friends that I'm hungry for this sandwich and watching their faces. I'm a dill pickle fan. Heavy on the mayo, heavy on the peanut butter, heavy on the pickle...Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TDAWNP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was a very interesting sandwich and it was a lot of fun to try. My husband and I both enjoyed it very much. I like the flavor of raw onions as long as it is not very strong so I only used about half of the amount suggested. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Oddly enough, it was delicious! I toasted my bread and only used one slice cut in half to make a "half sandwich" because I really didn't expect to enjoy it but I found it to be quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I love this recipe! I also enjoy substituting the bread with toasted frozen blueberry waffles and leaving out the onions. Verrry tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChowHound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
OK! This sounded sooo weird and I'm not even that big of a pickle fan but... YUM! Try it, its great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
wow. I cant believe I ate that. and even more, I cant believe I liked that. I think my choice of sugar free pb was helpful. it reminded me of dill pickle potato chips (which I dont know if they have in the US). next time I have a craving for chips, I will eat this freaky sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States