Poor Man's Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
I loved this recipe. I had to try it because it was so different and didn't really think I would like it all. The flavors really compliment each other.I used Claussen Sandwich Stackers and red onioin. It's standard lunch box fare now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
This was better than it sounds, but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Well my boyfriend loves peanut butter very, very much so we thought we would all try this sandwich. I didn't like it. It tasted like nothing to me except peanut butter. He said it was pretty good and he could taste all of it but really I think he just said that cuz he wanted another sandwich & he really didn't need one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
WOW, I was so impressed with this. It truly sounds awful, but I've always been a risk-taker, so I just had to try it. It didn't taste great at first, but then I experimented with a little more onion, tiny bit more mayo, and then less peanut butter, at which point the true flavor suddenly came out. If you didn't like it, try that. Absolutely delicious, craving another one already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
This sounded so weird I just had to try it. It was amazing! My husband thought I was crazy and asked if I was pregnant again, but after I assured him I wasn't, the curiosity got the best of him, too... and HE really liked it as well! You just have to try it to believe it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I too was skeptical about this sandwich, but it's really delicious. It's going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines
Living In: South Point, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Curiosity consumed me on this one and I had to try it.. I love all of the ingredients, but having them together in a sandwich? Even as I was making it, I was thinking, "No way". But to my surprise, it actually tasted quite good. This is probably one that kids would enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Considering the odd ingredient combination, it was quite good. My husband disagrees with me though. I appreciated the adventure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winneconne, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Fairly tasty. I had to use dill relish because I'm out of dill pickle, and I had to cut the amounts down because I'm using a smallish loaf of bread, but it's pretty good, actually. I'm sure it'll leave me with fierce breath, though. :P Also, to NENAH25: I think it's called "Poor Man's Sandwich" because it's meant to emulate a sandwich made with meat when it's actually made with less expensive peanut butter plus stuff most people have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
It was so strange I had to try it. It's better with no onion and substitute bread & butter pickle chips for dill ones. Still quite weird. I guess that's the point though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGEL5239

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States