Poor Man's Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
I gave this a three as I found it neither bad nor exciting just kinda boring. There was not a flavor in particular that stood out to me. My husband laughed when he looked inside the sandwich and gagged his way through eating it. He would have give it one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was a very interesting sandwich and it was a lot of fun to try. My husband and I both enjoyed it very much. I like the flavor of raw onions as long as it is not very strong so I only used about half of the amount suggested. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I had to try this because it reminded me of a sandwich that my grandfather eats all the time for breakfast which is... PB, mayo and raisens on ww toast. This was surprisingly good as is my grandpa's oldtime favorite. I think I'd like it better with no onion though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treatdream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I couldn't believe my eyes when I read this recipe. This was a staple of mine in high school (minus the onion, though. Never have been a fan of the raw onion.) I have to admit that I loved telling my friends "what I was in the mood for" and watching their faces. Actually, I'm a mother of four and I still love telling my friends that I'm hungry for this sandwich and watching their faces. I'm a dill pickle fan. Heavy on the mayo, heavy on the peanut butter, heavy on the pickle...Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TDAWNP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Oddly enough, it tasted really good. This is a great, filling snack when you just don't know what to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina S. Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Well, my oldest son is into weird food combinations right now, so he wanted to try this. He loved it, of course! I wasn't a huge fan as is, but I have to confess--if you leave out the onion and pickle (and just have peanut butter and mayonnaise), it is surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Hyphenated Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Ok, curiosity got the best of me. I just tried this and surprised myself. It's actually good, though a bit odd at first! I think the trick is to go lighter on the PB than you normally would and use a little more mayo. Will make this again and try red onion and a sliced tomato from the garden next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
It was so strange I had to try it. It's better with no onion and substitute bread & butter pickle chips for dill ones. Still quite weird. I guess that's the point though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGEL5239

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Fairly tasty. I had to use dill relish because I'm out of dill pickle, and I had to cut the amounts down because I'm using a smallish loaf of bread, but it's pretty good, actually. I'm sure it'll leave me with fierce breath, though. :P Also, to NENAH25: I think it's called "Poor Man's Sandwich" because it's meant to emulate a sandwich made with meat when it's actually made with less expensive peanut butter plus stuff most people have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Considering the odd ingredient combination, it was quite good. My husband disagrees with me though. I appreciated the adventure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winneconne, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States