Poor Man's Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
i really loved this and i think my husband was terrified that i was pregnant when he saw the ingredients! It was really good and my nieces and nephew also liked it! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I made this today using egg bread. Excellent. The tanginess of the vinegar in the pickle and the crunch of the cucumber and onion were perfect against the peanut butter and mayo. I will totally make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I enjoyed this strange sandwich and have made it quite a few times! Didn't measure anything and I used the claussen sliced refridgerated dill pickles which were nice and crunchy. Everyone looks at me like I'm crazy when I eat this, but I don't care - it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
So i read what everyone had to say..and i did it as well, JUST TRY IT! it does indeed taste like peanutbutter and pickles..i dont get the mayo part..but let me tell you my version..it makes this sangwich TO DIE FOR.. wheat bread, vlasic stackers thin sliced lengthwise dill pickles, red onion, optional mayo, BACON.. make the sandwich and put it in a skillett with butter, make it as you would a grilled cheese...the peanut butter is melty and messy but with the pickles and crispy bacon..i almost passed out...so delightful...id probably do it once a month as an indulgence..i honestly see this as more of a stoners delight haha fun to try though..you wont regret the bacon and crisping melting deliciousness..trust me! im a full advocate of the grilled cheese style skillett butter part of this poor man's delight...DO IT! haha good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Kris(py)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Hmm. The pickles and onions completely overpowered the peanut butter, and I couldn't even taste the mayonnaise. Sorry, but thanks for the interesting recipe! It makes for good conversation: "One time I tried this really weird sammich..." :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
rof lol - desperation brings forth amazing results! Just threw together 1/2 of a sandwich and - imagine my surprise - am going back for another half. My hats off to whoever created this little gem. After years and years of PB&J, it's nice to find something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
LOL My BF watched me eat PB & Pickles for 4 yrs before he would try it... and now he can often be found at the counter spreading PB on a pickle for a snack! It does sound odd, but it is SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pipster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I saw this a while ago and have been wanting to try it. So tonight, I decided I HAD to have it LOL It was ok...not bad, not great or anything...kind of weird. Probably wont make it again, but glad I tried it. Although, I might make it again if I'm ever pregnant again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Like most reviewers, I couldn't resist trying this strange combination (even though I do not particularly care for peanut butter, dill pickles or raw onion). Holy Moly! I loved it! I sliced the onion super thin so it wouldn't overpower the sandwich. It's a surprising and delightful mix of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I saw this, read the reviews, and was intrigued. So I made it, and was blown away. How can something so economical taste so fabulous? I have made this three days in a row for lunch. Not only have I saved over $10 versus takeout, but watching the reactions of people after I tell them what's in it is absolutely priceless. As a college student, this fits the bill and satisfies my hunger. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States