Poor Man's Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Oh man, I'm one of those weirdos who always has to try those foods that mix "abnormal" combinations of foods. While some have fallen flat where all you taste are the two things separately and all you think is "this isn't bad...but it isn't something I want to do again", this sandwich really blends the flavors into something enjoyable. I think they're onto something. I make this whenever I'm feeling something random and have pickles on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Sounded interesting so I tried it out, and it was great! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rolly Peña

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I love this sandwich. I always make it with no onion though. My mom refuses to try it, although I promise it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
At first I was quite hesitant to make this sandwich, but decided to give it a try. After the first bite, I couldn't believe what a tasty sandwich this was. I absolutely enjoyed it!! I did use 100% whole wheat bread, and mine width-wise, was longer in length, so I used (about) 2-1/2 tablespoons of creamy peanut butter, 3 Vlasic Stackers' Pickles, and instead of sliced onion, I used (about) 1 tablespoon of finely diced onion, and (about) 4 teaspoons of Hellmann's Mayonnaise. Don't skimp on the peanut butter and mayonnaise; especially the mayonnaise, as it really enhances the flavor of the sandwich. NENAH25, thank you for sharing this recipe. This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I have made a variation of this for years. Simply peanut butter onion and salad dressing. I prefer the way salad dressing complaments the peanut butter over mayo. Another old favorite is peanut butter and salad dressing alone. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sledgehammer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I used miracle whip instead of mayo. Bread and butter pickles instead of dill pickles. It was amazing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I grew up on this sandwich (without onions)!! Everybody looks at me like I'm crazy when I talk about, but when I make people try they are always presently surprised! I crave this tasty sandwich often!! Thanks for adding this, now I know that my family isn't the only one that love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Thanks for this easy sandwich idea. My siblings loved them. Who would have ever thought that those five ingredients would work so well together? Anyways, this one will definitely be used often for a quick lunch. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I eat different food combinations all the time. I have to say, I didn't care for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Ok so - after reading the reviews I pretty much new I'd like it, as unusual as this sandwich tasted. Husband, myself and kids all tasted it. And as expected - it tasted good. Flavours blend in and make a flavour of its own. Probably won't be asked to make again though. Fun to tell people you ate it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Mediterranean Chicken Sandwich

Tender chicken and veggies topped with melty mozzarella and feta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States