Poor Man's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
We tried this last night and it was so good and so easy...but it doesn't tell you how much water to use. I added some soy sauce to it too. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windham, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is the best way to cook the cheaper cuts of meat! I bought 4 cube steaks for $5 bucks. I cooked the garlic, peppers and onions in oil first then placed in the baking dish. Then I salted and peppered the flour. Dredging the steaks in that. I browned both sides of the steaks in vegtable oil, removing them when browned. Then I deglazed the pan with 1 14.5oz can of beef broth, letting it reduce also. I then placed the steaks in the bottom of the baking dish and placed the pepper mixture on top, then poured the broth drippings over that and baked. WONDERFUL....feeds a family of 5 for under $8.00. Add a slice of provolone to the top also for a variation. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I've been making this for a while, but instead of water, I use a large (15oz) can of tomato sauce and a spash of worcestershire sauce. This is one of those recipes that you can adapt to your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Great recipe! My husband loved it! I made it a second time on the stove to save time. It cooks in about 10 minutes on medium heat and tastes just as wonderful. We love it with fettucine alfredo and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
We loved it! I don't know why a couple of others didn't see the 2 cups of water in the ingredients. (Maybe the contributor added it later??) I also browned the cube steaks in the same pan after I removed the peppers, garlic, and onions. I also added beef bullion to the water and poured it over the whole thing. It is a great way to make cube steaks! I served it with mashed potatos and a side dish of yellow squash. I might try a pressure cooker next time to get it done quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
My husband really liked this pepper steak. He went back for seconds which means a lot in my household. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and sauteed the peppers, onion, and garlic then poured it over the top. I also added a few beef boulion cubes to the water. I would make this again. It takes forever to cook this meat fork tender so dont try it if your in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This recipe is so awesome!! My mom made this, but she added a can of stewed tomatoes to the recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
An enjoyable meal with great flavor, that is easy to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
loooooooved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
my wife has a version close to this,instead of green peppers she uses mild jalapenos and the last 15 minutes of baking she puts a layer of cheese on it then serves it on a bed of oven fried potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hoffman Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States