Poor Man's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This was great, even with substitutions. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I used a can of Rotelle and I had a can of whole tomatoes, so I drained the juice, chopped up the tomatoes and added them too. It did need a little cornstarch at the end for thickening as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
This dish was amazing. I added extra garlic and some rosemary. I also added beef boullion cubes to the water to give it additional taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Good recipe, I made this on the stove top in about 10 minutes instead of putting in the oven. I browned the steaks and sauted the onions and garlic in a little butter then I used 1-1/2 cup beef broth and 1/2 cup of red wine in place of the water to deglaze the pan. I added the peppers at the last just to warm them. Last I sprinkled shredded swiss cheese to the top. I served over some left over rice. I will fix this again for a quick dinner Update. I am no longer eating meat. I made this with Portabellasin stead of the meat and used vegtable broth. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
My family really loved this! I changed a few things after reading some of the previous reviews. I took other reviewers advice and added the 2 bouillon cubes to the water, deglazed the pan with it and then added to the pan. Then about 10 minutes before it was done I added about a 1/4 cup of milk with a Tbsp. or two of flour to the broth which made a really good gravy. I normally LOVE green peppers but I didn't care for them in this recipe. I didn't really think it went so I will omit them the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This recipe was quick to prepare and very tastey. However, I was in a hurry to cook something good...fast so I cooked in a hurry and realized only after I had everything going in the stove that I didn't quite follow the cooking method, lol. Good thing this wasn't a complicated dish as I have made pepper steak many times over the years, but was looking for a new way. I found this recipe and read it,went right into the kitchen and began cooking it my old way (I am still trying to figure out that move, but anywho)in a wok, I added about a 1tbs. of oil and stir-fried green peppers, onions, sliced garlic and canned mushrooms. Eyeballed a couple of shakes of soy sauce that sizzled into the pan. Then added the floured cubed beef and the water and then poured into a 13X something pyrex pan that I lined with foil (for easy cleanup), and placed in the oven covered until meat was tender. I served over basmati rice with a tossed garden salad. I had no need to add salt to this as I was serving extra soy souce on the side as a condiment. It was very tastey and have added it to my next months dinners, next time I will try cooking it exactly as the recipe states. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This recipe was fantastic! My boyfriend and I were looking for steak recipes and came across this. I have never cooked cubed steak before but this turned out great. It was very inexpensive and the taste was phenominal. It was juicy and tender, we will definatley use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
my wife has a version close to this,instead of green peppers she uses mild jalapenos and the last 15 minutes of baking she puts a layer of cheese on it then serves it on a bed of oven fried potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Hoffman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
We tried this but omitted the vegetables because we didn't have any onion on hand. It was still good. We had some garlic and used that. We deglazed the skillet with a cup of beef broth, but maybe should have used 2 cups. It was a nice main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by So Cal Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
loooooooved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
We loved it! I don't know why a couple of others didn't see the 2 cups of water in the ingredients. (Maybe the contributor added it later??) I also browned the cube steaks in the same pan after I removed the peppers, garlic, and onions. I also added beef bullion to the water and poured it over the whole thing. It is a great way to make cube steaks! I served it with mashed potatos and a side dish of yellow squash. I might try a pressure cooker next time to get it done quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States