Poor Man's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Not a bad recipe. Meat was nicely tender following the recipe but it had no "kick". I like spicy food and expected a little more from this. I'm going to be adding some Cajun spices to it next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
It was tender but not as flavorful as I hoped for. I used beef broth as other reviewers had suggested but next time I think I'll add more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
It smelled like heaven while it was cooking. I used only a little flour (I'm watching my carb intake), mixed with garlic powder, onion powder, basil and oregano and sauteed it in a tbsp. each of evoo and butter. When it was time to cook the peppers, I added 1/2 sliced onion, minced garlic, a little more basil and oregano and a little more evoo, I used one can Campbells beef broth instead of plain water (I read a lot of reviewers thought that adding a bouillion cube was a good addition but I didn't have that on hand, so I used the beef broth instead) and 1/4 c. Burgundy wine and cooked it down. I poured it over the cube steak and then cooked it for an hour and a half. I was really trying to give it another boost of flavor. My family thought this was really good and nothing remained. Cheap to make and really tasty. I served it with Cauliflower with Dijon Sauce and Garlic Rice for my boys. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This gets a 5 star from us. Hubby ate 2 plates full. I did cook this on the stove top and add the suggested beef bouillon cube. I hope my review is still considered by those that read it. It is just to darn hot here in Texas right now to heat up the house with the oven. A keeper for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilysgranny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I followed everything to a T and needless to say both my children and my fiance scrapped their plates and the pan! I needed something different and this just hit the spot! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babylove0003

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I didn't know how this one would go over with the kids, but they wanted seconds! That's saying a lot because they usually don't like cube steak no matter what I do to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is so good! My family went nuts over this. The only thing I done different was to mix 1 package of Liptons beefy onion dry soup with the 2 cups of water. Scrumptious!!! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
My family did not like this at all. I would not recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Absolutely good! I too cooked this on the stovetop,simmered for about 20 minutes to allow peppers to cook. I added 2 Tbs of gravy master (or worchester sauce?) to brown and season the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
We thought this was pretty bland, even using beef broth instead of water and adding an extra garlic clove as well mushrooms and red peppers. The steak had a mushy outside from cooking in the water, and the veggies were way too done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany

Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States