Poor Man's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was good and the steak was nice and tender. Took the advice of others and used beef broth instead of water, also deglazed the pan with the beef broth before pouring over the steak. We felt it could have used a little more flavor and we didn't care for the way the outside of the steak got soggy/slimy. I think that dredging the steak in flour caused the unpleasant texture and will try leaving out the flour next time. Will definately make again adding my own adjustment to make it a 4 or 5 star recipe in my book....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This was great. My kids are kind of picky eaters and they wanted seconds!! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
My Grandmpther made this often with a couple of changes. We used a cup of beef broth and a cup of V-8 juice for a bolder more tomato based gravy. Also I cooked longer it longer. Makes a great family dish, especially when strapped for time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made this for my family about two months ago. It was delicious and I only changed a few things. First, I added one chopped jalapeño and stir fried it when I cooked the onion. Second, it needed a little more flavor so I added 1 tsp of cumin. The last small change I made was to use 1 1/2 cup of water, and 1/2 cup of cream, then cook over the stove to have a quicker meal. It came out simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razia M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Cube steak? likely a term for hamburger, perhaps Bologna, or is this something new?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I was surprised I thought this was so bad because I'm not a picky eater. The gravy was weird and the meat needed to cook ALOT longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
i added some smoked paprika to it. I think it was just the right touch. Also I added potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is great and easy! .. I did a little change.. I added potatoes and Tomatoes .. and baked it as directed.. it was Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
My family has been making a version of this dish for decades. We've always made this recipe on the stove top in a dutch oven. Pretty much follow all the steps described in this recipe but instead of transfering to a casserole dish just keep the mean in the dutch oven and reduce heat to low and cook for an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZEROKEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
my family loved this meal! I followed the reviews and instead of just adding water i added one can of beef consomme and one can of diced tomatoes drained. It was really good and we will definitely be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States