Poor Man's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is the best way to cook the cheaper cuts of meat! I bought 4 cube steaks for $5 bucks. I cooked the garlic, peppers and onions in oil first then placed in the baking dish. Then I salted and peppered the flour. Dredging the steaks in that. I browned both sides of the steaks in vegtable oil, removing them when browned. Then I deglazed the pan with 1 14.5oz can of beef broth, letting it reduce also. I then placed the steaks in the bottom of the baking dish and placed the pepper mixture on top, then poured the broth drippings over that and baked. WONDERFUL....feeds a family of 5 for under $8.00. Add a slice of provolone to the top also for a variation. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I've been making this for a while, but instead of water, I use a large (15oz) can of tomato sauce and a spash of worcestershire sauce. This is one of those recipes that you can adapt to your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
We loved it! I don't know why a couple of others didn't see the 2 cups of water in the ingredients. (Maybe the contributor added it later??) I also browned the cube steaks in the same pan after I removed the peppers, garlic, and onions. I also added beef bullion to the water and poured it over the whole thing. It is a great way to make cube steaks! I served it with mashed potatos and a side dish of yellow squash. I might try a pressure cooker next time to get it done quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Great recipe! My husband loved it! I made it a second time on the stove to save time. It cooks in about 10 minutes on medium heat and tastes just as wonderful. We love it with fettucine alfredo and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
My husband really liked this pepper steak. He went back for seconds which means a lot in my household. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and sauteed the peppers, onion, and garlic then poured it over the top. I also added a few beef boulion cubes to the water. I would make this again. It takes forever to cook this meat fork tender so dont try it if your in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Turned out great, however, instead of water I used a can of Campbells French Onion broth. Also seasoned the meat and flour for a bit more flavor. Served with mashed potatoes and corn on the cob. Boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Good recipe, I made this on the stove top in about 10 minutes instead of putting in the oven. I browned the steaks and sauted the onions and garlic in a little butter then I used 1-1/2 cup beef broth and 1/2 cup of red wine in place of the water to deglaze the pan. I added the peppers at the last just to warm them. Last I sprinkled shredded swiss cheese to the top. I served over some left over rice. I will fix this again for a quick dinner Update. I am no longer eating meat. I made this with Portabellasin stead of the meat and used vegtable broth. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I will give this 3* because I haven't even tried it yet. It sounds good but the directions say to pour in water but doesn't give any amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This recipe was quick to prepare and very tastey. However, I was in a hurry to cook something good...fast so I cooked in a hurry and realized only after I had everything going in the stove that I didn't quite follow the cooking method, lol. Good thing this wasn't a complicated dish as I have made pepper steak many times over the years, but was looking for a new way. I found this recipe and read it,went right into the kitchen and began cooking it my old way (I am still trying to figure out that move, but anywho)in a wok, I added about a 1tbs. of oil and stir-fried green peppers, onions, sliced garlic and canned mushrooms. Eyeballed a couple of shakes of soy sauce that sizzled into the pan. Then added the floured cubed beef and the water and then poured into a 13X something pyrex pan that I lined with foil (for easy cleanup), and placed in the oven covered until meat was tender. I served over basmati rice with a tossed garden salad. I had no need to add salt to this as I was serving extra soy souce on the side as a condiment. It was very tastey and have added it to my next months dinners, next time I will try cooking it exactly as the recipe states. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
It smelled like heaven while it was cooking. I used only a little flour (I'm watching my carb intake), mixed with garlic powder, onion powder, basil and oregano and sauteed it in a tbsp. each of evoo and butter. When it was time to cook the peppers, I added 1/2 sliced onion, minced garlic, a little more basil and oregano and a little more evoo, I used one can Campbells beef broth instead of plain water (I read a lot of reviewers thought that adding a bouillion cube was a good addition but I didn't have that on hand, so I used the beef broth instead) and 1/4 c. Burgundy wine and cooked it down. I poured it over the cube steak and then cooked it for an hour and a half. I was really trying to give it another boost of flavor. My family thought this was really good and nothing remained. Cheap to make and really tasty. I served it with Cauliflower with Dijon Sauce and Garlic Rice for my boys. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States