Poor Man's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
An enjoyable meal with great flavor, that is easy to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I will give this 3* because I haven't even tried it yet. It sounds good but the directions say to pour in water but doesn't give any amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This is the first time that I have cooked cubed steak and it came out tender, and the bonus my 7 yr old wanted seconds. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettymommi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is the best way to cook the cheaper cuts of meat! I bought 4 cube steaks for $5 bucks. I cooked the garlic, peppers and onions in oil first then placed in the baking dish. Then I salted and peppered the flour. Dredging the steaks in that. I browned both sides of the steaks in vegtable oil, removing them when browned. Then I deglazed the pan with 1 14.5oz can of beef broth, letting it reduce also. I then placed the steaks in the bottom of the baking dish and placed the pepper mixture on top, then poured the broth drippings over that and baked. WONDERFUL....feeds a family of 5 for under $8.00. Add a slice of provolone to the top also for a variation. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Great way for steak inside, not on grill. It is nice to just throw it in the oven, very easy! However, it has to be done on a night when waiting works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I've been making this for a while, but instead of water, I use a large (15oz) can of tomato sauce and a spash of worcestershire sauce. This is one of those recipes that you can adapt to your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This recipe is so awesome!! My mom made this, but she added a can of stewed tomatoes to the recipe. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This was pretty good and the meat was really tender. Next time I will add some soy sauce and maybe thicken the sauce before serving. I missed that asian edge that most pepper steak recipes seem to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I gave this recipe four stars because it was a little bland. But, it is an excellent base dish and can be seasoned with to suit any taste. It is definitley a keeper for our house it gives us something to do with cube steaks other than chicken fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
My husband really liked this pepper steak. He went back for seconds which means a lot in my household. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and sauteed the peppers, onion, and garlic then poured it over the top. I also added a few beef boulion cubes to the water. I would make this again. It takes forever to cook this meat fork tender so dont try it if your in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States