Poor Man's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
We thought this was pretty bland, even using beef broth instead of water and adding an extra garlic clove as well mushrooms and red peppers. The steak had a mushy outside from cooking in the water, and the veggies were way too done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
don't follow the recipe exactly! This was one of the most bland dishes ever. I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I have t say, this recipe was great. It makes a hearty dinner for four, four about $5! I did make a few changes. I used top round steak, because its cheaper. I also took the other suggestions about using beef broth instead of just water. Also, when I took the pan out of the oven, I used some flour to make a thicker gravy and served over mashed potatoes. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This was a very good recipe and i will defenitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was a great Sunday dinner! It takes a little long but worth the wait. Instead of onions I used carrots and and a 15 oz can of tomato sauce with 1/2 cup of water and served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This was really good and super easy!!! I used yellow pepper instead of green just b/c I didn't have green. Added some garlic salt to it as well. Other than that, it turned out great and my husband, Dad and 4 yr old loved it!!! As did I. I served it over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Well my oven has problems so it kinda burnt off all the juices but if that didnt happen it would have been great. My kids still loved it with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarahscakes
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I liked this but, I can't give it too many stars because I doctored it up quite a bit. I added celery and a ton of pepper and salt. I used beef broth instead of water. After it had cooked for about an hour and a half I made a flour slurry with half a cup of milk and 3 tbs flour and added it to my beef broth. Then put it back in the oven for about half an hour. It cooked down more and was much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahscakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I only gave it a 4 because I didn't follow the recipe exact..I took some of the other reviews and swapped the water..I wound up using Classico's Triple Mushroom sauce...and cooked it 1:15. Other than that..the steak is very tender. I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Fulton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
We loved this! The meat is SOO tender. I'm making this for the third time!! MMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States