Poor Man's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Not a bad recipe. Meat was nicely tender following the recipe but it had no "kick". I like spicy food and expected a little more from this. I'm going to be adding some Cajun spices to it next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
It was tender but not as flavorful as I hoped for. I used beef broth as other reviewers had suggested but next time I think I'll add more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
It smelled like heaven while it was cooking. I used only a little flour (I'm watching my carb intake), mixed with garlic powder, onion powder, basil and oregano and sauteed it in a tbsp. each of evoo and butter. When it was time to cook the peppers, I added 1/2 sliced onion, minced garlic, a little more basil and oregano and a little more evoo, I used one can Campbells beef broth instead of plain water (I read a lot of reviewers thought that adding a bouillion cube was a good addition but I didn't have that on hand, so I used the beef broth instead) and 1/4 c. Burgundy wine and cooked it down. I poured it over the cube steak and then cooked it for an hour and a half. I was really trying to give it another boost of flavor. My family thought this was really good and nothing remained. Cheap to make and really tasty. I served it with Cauliflower with Dijon Sauce and Garlic Rice for my boys. I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This gets a 5 star from us. Hubby ate 2 plates full. I did cook this on the stove top and add the suggested beef bouillon cube. I hope my review is still considered by those that read it. It is just to darn hot here in Texas right now to heat up the house with the oven. A keeper for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilysgranny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I followed everything to a T and needless to say both my children and my fiance scrapped their plates and the pan! I needed something different and this just hit the spot! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Sibley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I didn't know how this one would go over with the kids, but they wanted seconds! That's saying a lot because they usually don't like cube steak no matter what I do to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is so good! My family went nuts over this. The only thing I done different was to mix 1 package of Liptons beefy onion dry soup with the 2 cups of water. Scrumptious!!! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
My family did not like this at all. I would not recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Absolutely good! I too cooked this on the stovetop,simmered for about 20 minutes to allow peppers to cook. I added 2 Tbs of gravy master (or worchester sauce?) to brown and season the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
We thought this was pretty bland, even using beef broth instead of water and adding an extra garlic clove as well mushrooms and red peppers. The steak had a mushy outside from cooking in the water, and the veggies were way too done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany

Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States