Poor Man's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This was great. My kids are kind of picky eaters and they wanted seconds!! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
My Grandmpther made this often with a couple of changes. We used a cup of beef broth and a cup of V-8 juice for a bolder more tomato based gravy. Also I cooked longer it longer. Makes a great family dish, especially when strapped for time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I made this for my family about two months ago. It was delicious and I only changed a few things. First, I added one chopped jalapeño and stir fried it when I cooked the onion. Second, it needed a little more flavor so I added 1 tsp of cumin. The last small change I made was to use 1 1/2 cup of water, and 1/2 cup of cream, then cook over the stove to have a quicker meal. It came out simply amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razia M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Cube steak? likely a term for hamburger, perhaps Bologna, or is this something new?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I was surprised I thought this was so bad because I'm not a picky eater. The gravy was weird and the meat needed to cook ALOT longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
i added some smoked paprika to it. I think it was just the right touch. Also I added potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is great and easy! .. I did a little change.. I added potatoes and Tomatoes .. and baked it as directed.. it was Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
My family has been making a version of this dish for decades. We've always made this recipe on the stove top in a dutch oven. Pretty much follow all the steps described in this recipe but instead of transfering to a casserole dish just keep the mean in the dutch oven and reduce heat to low and cook for an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZEROKEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
my family loved this meal! I followed the reviews and instead of just adding water i added one can of beef consomme and one can of diced tomatoes drained. It was really good and we will definitely be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
We really like this recipe. I followed some advice from previous reviewers. I used a cup of water/a cup of tomato sauce and 2 TBSP of worchestershire for pizazz and I deglazed the pan with it. We cooked the vegies a little first too. Served w/brown rice. Will make again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGGAN1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States