Poor Man's Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
GREAT recipe. Usually I use a can of cream of mushroom soup when making cube steaks making it so rich. This time I used a beef granule and JUST one cup of water. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Loretta P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Turned out well. Only 4 stars because for me I like a bit more flavor, and I did not use 2 cups of water ( that would have been too much, only need enough water, to coat the bottom of baking dish. Over all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I used beef broth instead of water and doubled the recipe. Turned out great! Very tender. I made gravy out of the leftover juice and the seasoned flour that I dredged the meat in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Soggy and bland, but tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
It says 2 cups of water....... But I didn't measure. I poured till it covered the meat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Meat was tender, but gravy was thin and flavorless. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
the meat was super tender, but the flavor wasn't all there. It seemed to need something but not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkneen111

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dayton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Made this for my picky hubby and my three boys. And they liked it !!! And so easy to prepare for an extremely busy work mom with three toddlers under 5 yrs old. Tasty - so this will be on the household menu..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hebbie
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was good and the steak was nice and tender. Took the advice of others and used beef broth instead of water, also deglazed the pan with the beef broth before pouring over the steak. We felt it could have used a little more flavor and we didn't care for the way the outside of the steak got soggy/slimy. I think that dredging the steak in flour caused the unpleasant texture and will try leaving out the flour next time. Will definately make again adding my own adjustment to make it a 4 or 5 star recipe in my book....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States